Jah Deliver Me
Nitty Kutchie
Flava Squad Entertainment
September 6, 2005

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Holding On
  3. Wise Up
  4. High Grade
  5. Shorty
  6. Mama
  7. Jah Deliver Me
  8. Interlude
  9. Free Up
  10. More Them Fight
  11. Got To Be Strong
  12. Screwface
  13. When You Have Jah
  14. Natural Sensi feat. Elephant Man
  15. Capture Me
  16. Spread It Around
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Nitty Kutchie, a 35 year old Jamaican singer and former member of Elephant Man's Scare Dem Crew releases his sixteen cut debut album "Jah Deliver Me". I must admit that this was an album I didn't really expect to like, having seen his unimaginative and formulaic video for the single 'Shorty' which is, by contrast, a good catchy track and one of the strongest. The album cover didn't help matters; a city setting depicting his name and album title in neon lights, an image which reinforced my suspicion of a watered down crossover reggae style produced for mainstream appeal.

Despite these assumptions it is clear from the off that Kutchie has an excellent voice, not dissimilar to that of Luciano or Bushman but with a slightly more urban, Americanised tone. The album opens very well with the Rasta chant "So Long Rastafari Call You", leading into the two catchy, upbeat opening cuts "Holding On" and "Wise Up". There are a number of other strong tacks including the likable single "Shorty", one of the few tracks without religious connotations, and the uplifting "More Them Fight". Throughout "Jah Deliver Me" Kutchie uses his strong, clear vocals almost exclusively over reggae one-drop riddims and whilst this style delivers some strong tracks it does, inevitably, lead to a lack of variety. You could say that despite its strengths the album simply drops one one-drop too many.

On the down side there are some weak tracks, in particular the mediocre and therefore best skipped "Mama" (why oh why do so many artists find it necessary to include a 'mama' song when 9/10 times they are utter rubbish?) and the obligatory marijuana track "High Grade". However, as you would hope from a man calling himself Kutchie, he does manage to extol the virtues of marijuana with some quality on the collaboration with Elephant Man, "Natural Sensi".

This is an album that largely succeeds, and whilst hardly a 'must have' is, for fans of easy listening and one-drop reggae, certainly worth checking out as the stronger tracks on it have an undeniable appeal and quality.