Album review
Jah Golden Throne
Peter Broggs
Jah Warrior

Tracking list

  1. Put My Trust In Jah
  2. Lef Babylon & Come
  3. Jah Jah Voice Is Calling
  4. Lead Us Jah Jah
  5. Jah Is Mighty In Battle
  6. Hail Him
  7. Jah Golden Throne
  8. Rasta Nah Lose Him Culture
  9. I Want To Tell The World I Love Jah
  10. Sinners Where You Gonna Run
  11. New Jerusalem
  12. Warning
  13. I Don't Mind
  14. I Don't Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Although in reggae business for more than two decades by now, Peter Broggs still doesn't get the kind of recognition he deserves. Although he has recorded several fine roots albums throughout his career, it is striking that acclaimed books dealing with the history of reggae music do not contain any information about this singer's career, which makes the predicate "underrated" - often preceding this singer's name - a real understatement. "Ignored" would be a far better and fitting word. However, with this Jah Warrior produced roots set things might take a turn for the better.
Peter Broggs is known as a singer and songwriter who finds his inspiration in his love for Jah Rastafari, so it's obvious that all tracks on "Jah Golden Throne" contain messages of truths, righteousness, rastafari and love. Producer Steve "Jah Warrior" Mosco has truly done a good job as he managed to get the best out of this vocalist. Although one might expect that Peter Broggs' slightly mournful and haunting vocal delivery will be overwhelmed by Jah Warrior's usually heavy roots and steppers style riddims, Steve Mosco's arrangements are perfectly fitting the singer's chanting sing style. Tunes like the superb "Lef Babylon & Come", the wicked "Lead Us Jah Jah", the meditatively sung "Jah Is Mighty In Battle", the solid "New Jerusalem", and the awesome "Jah Golden Throne" - a re-cut of a tune Broggs did with Prince Far I - benefit from Mosco's approach and turn them into modern roots anthems.
"Jah Golden Throne" is a very solid, beautifully produced album - incorporating vintage sounding melodies and extraordinary live horn lines - which will certainly appeal to many roots fans!

Teacher & Mr. T.