Jah Guide
Natural Black
May 14, 2007

Natural Black - Jah Guide Track list
  1. Cry Cry Baby
  2. Intellectual Fanatics
  3. Bless The Herb
  4. Genuine Love
  5. Selassie & Marcus
  6. Make Sacrifice
  7. Joy
  8. Give Thanks And Praise
  9. Jah Jah Bless
  10. Love Of Rasta
  11. Africa
  12. Jah Knows
  13. Every Time
  14. Caring And Sharing
  15. That's Life
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 12-
Very Good -Votes: 30-
Good -Votes: 12-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 57
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
It seems like Natural Black has finally secured himself a place amongst today's top flight roots singers since he relocated from Guyana to Jamaica in 1995, where started working for Beres Hammond's Harmony House label, Freddie McGregor's Big Ship organisation and Jack Scorpio's Black Scorpio set up. After last year's international hit singles "Far From Reality" (across Donovan 'Don Corleon' Bennnett's massively popular "Seasons" riddim) and "Nice It Nice", both included on his well-received third full-lenght album "Far From Reality", and its recently released worthy successor "Cool Nuh Black" for Fraser's Vizion Sounds Records, this fifth album sees the singjay team up with well-respected veteran producer Lloyd James aka King Jammy's.

While listening to the first tunes featured on this "Jah Guide" album, it's quite clear that Natural Black's collaboration with such an experienced producer has worked very well. For this set Jammy's has dug up some of the best pre "Sleng Teng" riddims including "Four Seasons Lover", "It's Raining" (aka "Weatherman"), "Solomon", and "Water Pumping". Besides that there are also some original Nyahbinghi flavours -- "Caring And Sharing" -- and contemporary riddims included as well.

Tracks like "Intellectual Fanatics" and "Bless The Herb" (across the classic "Fresh" riddim) instantly make a good impression, but then -- from the first high point, "Selassie & Marcus" -- it only gets better and better, with Natural Black showing that he has developed from a gruff voiced deejay reminiscent of Buju Banton and Terror Fabulous into an artist with a varied, more melodic vocal style.

Furthermore this brand new collection of tunes showcases Natural Black's ability to write and perform catchy, meaningful songs in which he covers a wide range of themes including reality, matters of the heart and culture. Every track on this album has its own merit and is worth of hearing with the aforementioned "Selassie & Marcus", "Joy", "Jah Jah Bless", "Africa", and "Everytime", being the stand outs.

"Jah Guide" is an album that will surely please the Natural Black fan and roots reggae aficionados alike.