Album review
Jah Jah Will Unite Us
Tonca & Friends
Bronese N.V.

Tracking list

  1. Jah Jah Will Unite Us
  2. Brethren You Know
  3. Children In The Ghetto
  4. Who Are You
  5. Mr. DJ.
  6. Nuclear War
  7. Portraits Of A President
  8. Nothing To Lose
  9. Too Much Promises
  10. Bring It On Home To Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Although this album is not one of the latest reggae albums to be released, but already nearly a decade old, it certainly deserves to be mentioned. This album from St. Maarten's Tonca (here still spelled Tounka) and his musical Friends is a treat lyrically and musically. Two lovers' tunes and a lot of conscious tracks, and all lyrics are provided in the booklet.
Wonderful backing vocals add extra spice to opening and title track "Jah Jah Will Unite Us", showcasing the direction of the tracks to follow. "Brethren You Know" is an equally strong track. The real horns are strenghtening "Children In The Ghetto", a strong track that now becomes superb. "Who Are You" is a plea to a girl (Who are you to tell me I'am nobody) reminiscent of Pablo Moses' "Each Is A Servant". The horns just keep on giving that relaxed vibe throughout these songs, like "Mr. D.J.", which has the more than true lyrics 'Here's a new song friends will like to hear you play'. The selections following can only be described as more musical goodness to come, I was very impressed by this release and I do wonder why this wasn't picked up on a great scale when initially released.
This is a very strong album by an artist you should all be checking out, if you appreciate conscious lyrics, real horns, and matching riddims. Other albums by Tonca that are reviewed on these pages are "For You Only", and Tonca's latest release "Committed To Jah".

Tonca and Bronese Recording Studio can be reached at:  
e-mail: bronese@megatropic.com 
URL http://www.megatropic.com/partners/bronese/index.html