Album review
Jah Live !
Sammy Dread
Heartbeat City

Tracking list

  1. What's Going On
  2. Money
  3. Girl Of My Dreams
  4. Independent Dread
  5. Jah Live
  6. Think Constructively
  7. You I Love
  8. If Loving U Is Wrong
  9. Mistake
  10. Be Mine
  11. Mona Lisa
  12. She Ain't For Real
  13. Truth And Rights
  14. The Bride
  15. One Man Went 2 Mow
  16. Plant Mi Sensi
  17. Talk It Over
  18. Runnin' Around
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4

Stewart Farquaharson, better known to his many adoring fans as Sammy Dread, made his recording debut in the latter half of the seventies at a time Dancehall started to develop itself as a new musical style. Despite the fact that Sammy Dread definitely was one of the singers who best exemplified dancehall vocals he never achieved the giant breakthrough and a wider recognition. This made that the somewhat underrated singer - who delivered so many fine songs in an enthusiastic roughhouse manner - was prevented from enjoying an enduring and successful career, which actually resulted in taking some time out from recording. Now U.S.-based "Heartbeat City Records" has released a solid 18 track vintage album showcasing Sammy Dread's unique and strong vocal style delivered across "live" played riddims from - mainly - the first half of eighties laid by such great musicians like Leroy Wallace, Sly Dunbar, Flabba Holt, Jackie Mittoo, Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson, Scully, Nambo and Dean Fraser. Besides that Sammy Dread proves to be equally at home with message songs and lovers songs, as both sorts of tunes are represented here. Some of the tracks included on this compilation were taken from the first of three Sammy Dread albums entitled "Think Constructively". "Jah Live !" is a solid Sammy Dread album which hopefully brings him the well deserved respect and recognition from a wider audience !

Teacher & Mr. T.