Album review
Jah Love
Michael Prophet
Live & Learn

Tracking list

  1. Instruction
  2. It's Time
  3. Back Off
  4. 2000 Years
  5. You Been Talking
  6. I Certify
  7. Tonight, Tonight
  8. Jah Love
  9. World Of Confusion
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4

Miami based "Live & Learn" Records have re-issued another fine album from their back catalogue on compact disc, in this case Michael Prophet's "Jah Love". It was through his association with artist/producer Vivian Jackson aka Yabby You that Michael Prophet (real name Michael George Haynes) succeeded to establish his name in the second half of the seventies. He recorded three highly regarded roots albums for Yabby You and then left for Henry "Junjo" Lawes for whom he cut a similar number of discs. This new association also proved very successful and it not only brought him Dancehall popularity, but also his biggest hit to date, "Gunman". After having freelanced for producers like Don Mais, Winston Riley, Sugar Minott and Winston "Niney" Holness, Michael Prophet teamed up with Delroy Wright for whom he recorded three albums, "Cease Fire", "Settle Yu Fe Settle" and this "Jah Love", which was originally released in 1983.
Recorded and mixed at Channel One by Bunny Tom-Tom and backed by guitarist Earl "Chinna" Smith's High Times Band this album showcases the singer in good shape. Michael Prophet delivers 9 very enjoyable and solid tunes in his well known singular crying vocal style over the kind of driving riddims that dominated Jamaican music in the early and mid-eighties. Being a roots artist from origin it's obvious that the cultural vibe dominates this album, although "Tonight, Tonight" showcases that he is capable of delivering a decent lovers tune. Standout tracks are It's Time, "Back Off", "2000 Years", "Jah Love" and "World Of Confusion". Most, if not all, tracks are dubbed from vinyl which makes that the sound quality isn't always crisp and clear as one might expect from a compact disc. However, don't let it prevent you from checking out, because the music is truly worth while.

Teacher & Mr. T.