Album review
Jah Music
The Heartical Crew
09 - 04 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Jah Music
  2. Hi Town Ting
  3. Moving On
  4. Come Rally
  5. Island Woman
  6. Love
  7. Jah Life
  8. Strive
  9. Angel Of Love
  10. Free Mumia
  11. A Change Is Gonna Come
  12. Serious Time
  13. Baggamouth
  14. Dub Rally
  15. Jah Dub
  16. Keep Dubbing
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

The Heartical Crew (THC), the premiere roots reggae band based in Hawai, made their debut in 1994, rising from the break-up of their former band Roots Natty Roots. The release of the album 'Action' soon followed, and in 1997 THC added two new talented musicians to their original line-up. Nowadays the band consists of Idrun (drums), Maakah (vocals, keyboards), Isis (vocals, bass), Binghi T (vocals,guitars) and Poppa E (vocals, keyboards).
Their new album 'Jah Music' is a fine collection of heartfelt roots reggae music combined with thoughtful lyrics and pleasant sounding, melodic harmonies. Most of the songs found here are original, fresh tunes. The album opens with one of the many highlights, the uplifting Jah Music. Hi Town Ting is a great reworking of Alton Ellis' Studio One tune 'Breaking Up'. Moving On and Come Rally are two fine distinctive Rastafari tunes. The tune Strive is also featured on the 'Roots Music' cd compilation, and their anthemic Free Mumia appears on the 'Reggae Free Mumia' compilation. Highlights of the album are Baggamouth, A Change Is Gonna Come and Serious Time.
With Jah Music THC has released a fine roots album, rooted in the tradition of Bob Marley, Steel Pulse, Burning Spear and Israel Vibration !

Teacher & Mr. T.