Jah Victory
Alpha Blondy
January 5, 2008

Alpha Blondy - Jah Victory Track list
  1. I Wish You Were Here
  2. Sankara
  3. Ranita
  4. Ne Tirez Pas Sur L'ambulance
  5. Demain T'appertaint
  6. Bahia
  7. Mister Grande Gueule
  8. Africa Yako
  9. Cameroun
  10. Jah Light
  11. Le Bal Des Combattus
  12. Tampiri
  13. Les Salauds
  14. Sales Racistes
  15. Ikafo
  16. Jesus
  17. Gban Gban
  18. La Planete
  19. La Route De La Paix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
After 5 years of silence Alpha Blondy released his brand new album "Jah Victory" in October 2007. The reason for not releasing a new album was his promise to stop recording until the civil war in Ivory Coast has ended. President Laurent Gbagbo and Rebel leader Guillame Soro declared the end of this civil war on the 30th July 2007 and so here we have the new Alpha Blondy album.

After the senseless killing of Lucky Dube, Alpha Blondy is the only living Reggae Superstar coming out of Africa. He was born on the 1st of January 1953 (happy earthday!!!) in Dimbokoro, Ivory Coast and comes of the tribe of Dioula. His first album, released in 1983, was "Jah Glory", which had international success. Perhaps his true highlight was the album "Jerusalem" with the Wailers, recorded at Tuff Gong in Kingston, Jamaica. Alpha Blondy sings his songs in English, French, Arabic, Hebraic and also in some west African languages. On tour always a star of David, the bible and the coran are in his luggage.

His newest set was recorded in Paris and again at Tuff Gong Studios in Kingston. Producer is Tyrone Downie, well known as keyboard player of The Wailers. Musicians include the Riddim Twins - Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare. The album opens with a version of Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here, and furthermore there's also a fine adaptation from Bob Marley's "Crazy Baldhead" entitled Sales Racistes. The other tunes included here are mostly self composed. Unfortunately I am only able to understand the English lyrics as most of the tunes are delivered in French and in "Dioula". On the final track La Route De La Paix he's describing the situation in his native country and I think the album title, "Jah Victory", is a reference to the end of the civil war.

Really nothing more should be written about this album, because you simply get a typical Alpha Blondy album - no surprises and also no disappointments.