Album review
Jah Warrior
Sizzla & Luciano
Penitentiary Records-Walboomers Music
December 10, 2003

Tracking list

  1. Sizzla - Somehow
  2. Luciano - Leave Babylon
  3. Sizzla - Just Like
  4. Luciano - No Problem
  5. Sizzla - Girl Dem
  6. Luciano - False Prophet
  7. Sizzla - Jerusalem
  8. Luciano - Talk Wid Jah
  9. Sizzla - Blood Run Again
  10. Luciano - King Jether
  11. Sizzla - Legendary
  12. Luciano - I Know Jah
  13. Sizzla - Live On
  14. Luciano - Righteousness
  15. Sizzla - Love And Affection
  16. Luciano - I Am The Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Two cultural artists who played a prominent role in the Rasta renaissance that began in the mid-1990s, Bobo Dread chanter Sizzla and conscious roots singer Luciano, are paired on this new 16 track cd called "Jah Warrior". Included here is a collection of tunes that earlier appeared on limited edition 7" singles. Half of the Sizzla tracks are produced by Kemar McGregor (aka DJ Flava). The remaining tunes are produced by Delroy Harrison (aka Dr. Marshall or Mad D), S. Richards and Donald "Tixie" Dixon. Sizzla particularly stands out in the rootical efforts. "Some How" starts off a little weird, but then this track turns out to be a strong effort with Sizzla in good shape, lyrically as well as vocally. It's truly one of the highlights on this cd. The same goes for "Love And Affection", which is delivered across the resuscitated "Heavenless" riddim. Another classic riddim underpins "Just Like", a decent tune although not everyone will be overly fond of Sizzla's high vocal tones in the verses. "Live On" seemingly is a solid effort, but then it turns out that this tune fails to keep you involved until the end. The rest of the Sizzla pieces are performed over hardcore dancehall riddims. "Girl Dem" is a rather mediocre effort, whilst "Blood Run Again" (another blameworthy "batty boy" tune) doesn't impress either. On the other hand you'll find Sizzla in fiery form on the awesome "Jerusalem" and the solid "Legendary". Even though it's hard to compare both artists musically spoken, it's Luciano who runs things on this set. From him no "hit & miss" selection, but eight solid to excellent modern roots tracks. It's almost impossible to point out the highlights as all of them are truly worth of hearing. So, here are just our personal favourites which include "False Prophets", the spiritually uplifting "Talk Wid Jah", the wonderful, Jimmy Riley produced "King Jether" and "Righteousness" (aka "Cleanliness"). All in all an album worth purchasing for the Luciano tracks alone.

Teacher & Mr. T.