Album review
Jah Works
Junior P
Burning Fya Records / Special Cut Music
02 - 11 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Keep On Loving Jah featuring Dakeye
  2. Lean Pon De Poor
  3. Burn Baggawire
  4. Can't Stop The Fire
  5. Release Me featuring Priest Imani
  6. Love You So Much featuring Dakeye
  7. Black Princess
  8. Forward To Ethiopia
  9. Give Thanks Praises featuring Sugar Minott
  10. Babylon Burn Up
  11. Love In My Heart
  12. Love And Overstanding
  13. Jah Works
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

During the nineties, Junior P performed with high profile artists/groups such as: B.B.D, Frankie Paul, Big Daddy Cane, and Coolio. Those shows proved his versatility as a performer and his ability of capturing both the hip-hop and the reggae audience. Junior P then went on to record an album for Capital Record while still performing at various hip-hop and reggae spots. In 1995, Capital Records released the single "Good Body Gal" and immediately it rose to the top on DJ's play list internationally. The single even rose to #2 on Choice FM London's playlist. The album "Cockburnpen" was a mixture of hip-hop and reggae featuring artist like Slim Kid Tre, Pharcyde, Junior Cat, Roger Flames, Tenor Blue, and Frankie Paul. Now in the year 2001, the reggae and dancehall massive is treated to "Jah Works", the brandnew album from Jah's Righteous Prophet - Junior P.
On this 13-track CD Junior P showcases that he can deliver an appealing conscious tune over whatever kind of riddim he has to voice. Thus "Jah Works" not only includes some truly enjoyable cuts for fans of modern roots reggae, but also features some nice tunes for those who are looking for decent Dancehall music. On the roots side one can find such solid solo efforts like "Babylon Lean Pon De Poor" (over a wicked revitalized version of the Melodians' "Come On Little Girl" riddim), the uplifting "Black Princess", "Love In My Heart" and "Love And Overstanding". Dancehall niceness comes to you when playing tracks like the awesome "Can't Stop The Fire", "Babywong Burn Up" and "Burn Baggaware" (aka "Hand Mi Da Fiya) which is performed over an infectious danceable backdrop. Besides the aforementioned tracks Junior P delivers some notable combination tunes. Both tunes with singer Dakeye belong to our favourite tracks, but it's the impressive cut with Priest Imani - "Release Me" - that can be heard over and over again. And also the combination song with reggae vet Sugar Minott - "Give Thanks & Praise" - is well worth spinning.
Junior P is back with a vengeance as can be witnessed on this "Jah Works" album. Credits for production work go to Kevin Brown aka Spyda KB, C. Campbell and Kali.

Teacher & Mr. T.          Buy the CD