Album review
Jamaican Memories By The Score
Dwight Pinkney
Abengg International Records
15 - 03 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Tune In
  2. Better Must Come
  3. Screwface
  4. Memories By The Score
  5. Evening Time
  6. Left With A Broken Heart
  7. Barbwire
  8. Night Nurse
  9. Cherry Oh Baby
  10. Many Rivers
  11. Promise Me (How Could I Live)
  12. Dangerous Disturbances
  13. Can I Change My Mind
  14. Lord Deliver Us
  15. Let Him Go
  16. Cry Tough
  17. Go Back Home
  18. Morning Of My Life
  19. El Nino
  20. Candle In The Wind
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Guitarist Dwight Pinkney first professional band 'The Sharks' recorded some Jamaican number one hits at Coxsone Dodd's studio. His guitar playing can be heard on Studio One tracks such as The Gaylads 'Lady With The Red Dress On', Ken Boothe's 'You're No Good' and Bob Marley's 'Put It On'. In the seventies he and Mike Williams formed the highly acclaimed group Zap Pow. This group enjoyed considerable success in the seventies and just before vocalist Beresford Hammond joined the group, they had their first big international hit with 'This Is Reggae Music'. The band did a lot of their own production but also worked with Tommy Cowan and, on one unusual cut issued under the title 'River', Lee Perry. The band went on until 1979 and during that time the lead guitarist of the Channel One house band 'The Roots Radics' migrated and Dwight filled in his spot. The following years the band recorded with all the big names in the scene : Yellowman, Gregory Isaacs, Eek A Mouse, Don Carlos, Bunny Wailer, Wailing Souls, Freddie McGregor and Hugh Mundell, to name but a few. Most of Junjo Lawes and Linval Thompson's productions were backed by The Roots Radics. In the nineties The Roots Radics backed several major reggae acts and released a series of fine albums of their own.
"Jamaican Memories By The Score" is his debut solo album featuring upbeat instrumental versions of reggae tunes, overviewing the musical history of reggae music. Most of the tunes found here are classic tunes : Gregory Isaacs' Tune In and Night Nurse, Alton Ellis' Can I Change My Mind, Cry Tough and Lord Deliver Us, Go Back Home from the legendary Bob Andy, Cherry Oh Baby by Eric Donaldson and Bunny Wailer's Let Him Go.
Other musicians included here are Dean Fraser, David Madden, and Nambo Robinson on horns. Backig vocals are provided by Pam Hall, Sharon Forrester, Sabrina Williams, Boris Gardiner, Ansel Collins, Dean Stephens and Dean Fraser.

Teacher & Mr. T.