The Best Of...
Junior Kelly
Penitentiary Records-Walboomers Music
August 22, 2005

Track list
  1. Love So Nice
  2. Creation
  3. Push A Fire
  4. Cool Nu
  5. Juvenile
  6. My Love
  7. Real
  8. What Will It Take
  9. What A Worries
  10. Oh Lord
  11. Black
  12. Bun Down Rome
  13. Whoa Lord
  14. Dem Should A Know
  15. Rise
  16. Burden's Heavy
  17. When
  18. Jah Knows
  19. Cover Yourself
  20. Time
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
This album includes the best tracks from Junior Kelly's 4 album releases for Penitentiary Records; "Creation", "Bless", "Juvenile" and "Conscious Voice". Kelly, an artist of clear potential, has yet to achieve the status of Sizzla, Luciano, Capleton or Anthony B with whom he is included on Penitentiary's 'Five Disciples' compilations. The twenty featured tracks demonstrate his talents at performing a range of different styles - from rougher DJ'ing, as heard on "Real", to the R&B style singing on "My Love".

Appropriately the album kicks off with the song that also kick started Kelly's career - his no. 1 tune of 2000 "Love So Nice" (which makes use of an altered version of Bob Marley's "Stir It Up"). This is followed, as one would hope from a "Best Of" compilation, by a strong selection of popular singles and stand out tracks. The chosen tracks aptly showcase his very accessible singjay style, comparable with Sizzla or Capleton although without the whiney qualities of the former or the raw aggression of the latter. Personal favourites would have to be "Dem Should A Know", "Juvenile", and the brilliant deliberately stuttered delivery of Cre… Cre… Cre… "Creation".

It is possible that some may overlook this release due to the lack of any new material, which is the only potential criticism, that said it would make an excellent companion purchase or stop gap for any fans awaiting his forthcoming album "Tough Life" on VP Records. Needless to say this is a great starting point for newcomers to Junior Kelly and a good overview of the quality of work he produced on the Penitentiary label, all in all a worthy purchase for any reggae fan.