Fiend Victim
Jah Lloyd
October 6, 2014

Track list
  1. Reggae Stick
  2. Wipe The Weeping Eyes
  3. Girl Like You
  4. Learn Your Culture
  5. Leggo Natty Hand
  6. Fiend Victim
  7. Natty Come Over
  8. No Sky Larking
  9. Consumer Goods Married
  10. Soldier Round The Corner
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
The late Pat Francis, better known as Jah Lion or Jah Lloyd, was a fine singer and deejay, who - as a teenager - ended up in the Trench Town area of Kingston after he was brought up by his farming father in a district call Point Hill, St Catherine, since his mother had died when he was eight years old. There he formed the Meditators, a vocal group consisting of himself, Paul Ashley and Aston Jennings. Their first recording was "Darling Here I Stand" on the Coxsone label, which was followed by "When You Go to A Party" and "Look How You Bust Style" on Rupie Edwards' Success label. Under his own name he then recorded "King Of Kings" on the Upsetter label, followed by some more tunes. In the '70s he started deejaying under his artist name Jah Lloyd and together with longtime friend Mike Brooks he launched the Teem label in 1974. His finest hour came in 1976 when he collaborated with Lee 'Scratch' Perry on the "Colombia Colly" LP, which was recorded at the Black Ark Studios and gained a worldwide release on Island Records. Because Pery insisted on his ditching the name Jah Lloyd in favour of Jah Lion, the album was credited to Jah Lion. As Jah Lloyd he released the critically acclaimed albums "The Humble One" and "Black Moses" before collaborating with Prince Jammy on "Goldmine Dub".

"Fiend Victim", released by Roy Cousins on his own Tamoki-Wambesi-Dove label, is actually a cd reissue of the self-produced Jah Lloyd's "Reggae Stick" album that was released in 1979 on his own His Majesty imprint, although it's not that obvious because several tunes have been retitled. On this set, Jah Lloyd not only deejays, he also sings on about half of the tracks, which he does quite nicely. "Reggae Stick" across the "None Shall Escape The Judgement" riddim is a great opener, which is followed by the slow-paced rastafari anthem "Wipe The Weeping Eyes". Superb tune! After the first three tracks he returns to deejaying on the solid "Learn Your Culture". The latter is outmatched by "Leggo Natty Hand", a great tune on the "Ain't No Sunshine" riddim. Also the alphabet track "Fiend Victim" (originally titled "Cultural Education") is a real good one, even though it stops before the alphabet is completed. Another highlight is "Natty Come Over", while "No Skylarking" and "Consumer Goods Married" are also worthwhile hearing. One of Jah Lloyd's best known songs, "Soldier Round The Corner", is included here as. And although this song, one of the most successful versions on the "To Be A Lover" riddim, has a different somewhat weird mix than the original, it's still good to hear it again.

Jah Lloyd died on 12th June 1999, after hed been living on the streets of Kingston for years, no money for food nor his asthma medications.