Jacob Miller Lives On
Jacob Miller
17 North Parade / VP Records
May 22, 2007

Jacob Miller & I Roy - Jacob Miller Lives On Track list
  1. I'm A Natty / Knotty Knots feat. I Roy (Special Extended Mix)
  2. Shakey Girl (Special Extended Mix)
  3. I'm Just A Dread / One Shut feat. Trinity (Original 12" Disco Mix)
  4. Keep On Knocking / This Old Man feat. U Brown (Original 12" Disco Mix)
  5. Keep On Running feat. Welton Irie (Original 12" Disco Mix)
  6. Back Yard Movements / Fussing Anf Fighting feat. Killer Brown (Original 12" Disco Mix)
  7. Fly Away
  8. The Villain Dub (Mighty Two)
  9. Above Rocks Dub (Augustus Pablo)
  10. Front Page Dub (Joe Gibbs & The Professionals)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 3-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 5
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4/5
Launched this year by VP Records, the 17 North Parade imprint is set up to pay homage to the historic location of Randyís Record Mart, the premier recording studio and record shop in Kingston, and the Mecca for Reggae music between the late 60's and 70ís.

The history of 17 North Parade begins over 40 years ago, when reggae pioneers Vincent Chin and his wife Patricia moved their record store to 17 North Parade, a former ice cream parlor in downtown Kingston. Above the new store they constructed a recording studio aptly called "Randy's Studio 17" which became the recording facility of choice for the majority of Reggae's most prominent artists, writers and producers. Bob Marley & The Wailers recorded parts of the "Catch A Fire" album there, but also Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Bunny Lee, Niney The Observer, as well as foreign artists looking for the authentic reggae sound such as Quincy Jones and Joe Cocker all worked extensively at Randy's.

'Jacob Miller Lives On' is a blistering collection of 12 inches and other material from the man who was also known as Jacob 'The Killer' Miller. For many years Jacob Miller served as front man of the popular group Inner Circle. However, he's best remembered for his solo outings during the golden era of reggae music. His work for producers Augustus Pablo and Joe Gibbs have become classics. He died in a car crash along Hope Road on March 23, 1980. His death shocked the entire nation and the music fraternity internationally. Jacob Miller was an artist whose music was filled with social commentary that highlighted the serious problems within the Jamaican ghettos. He became the people's voice with many controversial topics. As a youth he hung out with musicians and singers and recorded with artists such as Carlton & His Shoes, The Cables, Ken Boothe, The Heptones, Bob Andy and Jackie Mittoo at Coxsone Dodd's legendary Studio One. He recorded several albums including 'Tenement Yard', 'Jacob 'Killer' Miller', 'Wanted', 'Mixed Up Moods' and 'Lives On' aka 'I'm Just A Dread'.

This album is a reissue of the 'Lives On' set, but with three bonus tunes (the dubs) and most tunes in a special extended edition or 12 inch mix. Joe Gibbs was famed for the crisp sound of his productions. The 12 inches he released during the golden era of reggae music have become collectors items. Anyone familiar with reggae music will know (and love) the songs offered here.

I'm A Natty / Knotty Knots, with a brilliant toast by the great I Roy captures Bob Marley's 'Soul Rebel' riddim. Shakey Girl was one of Jacob's biggest hits for Joe Gibbs, here you can enjoy it in extended form. Deejay Trinity joins Jacob on I'm Just A Dread / One Shut. The melody comes from the Studio One classic 'I'm Just A Guy' originally performed by Alton Ellis. The Villian is the dub version. Bob Marley's 'Hypocrites' riddim is used for Keep On Knocking / This Old Man, featuring U Brown. Augustus Pablo returns later on the album with his interpretation called Above Rocks. Jacob recorded the tune earlier for Studio One as 'Love Is The Message'. Backyard Movements, tied in with Killer Brown's toast offering of 'Fussing And Fighting' is brought forth over 'Play Play Play', a 1968 tune by Rita Marley and her Soulettes.

The album was recorded & mixed at Joe Gibbs Studios, recording & mixing engineer was Errol Thompson and Joe Gibbs. Although the sound quality isn't up to nowadays standards it's definitely an essential collection.