Jet Star Reggae Max
Junior Kelly
Jet Star
October 22, 2006

Track list
  1. Can We Meet
  2. Let It Be Me
  3. Be Blessed
  4. Bun Down Rome
  5. My Baby
  6. God Bless
  7. Come One Day
  8. I'll Never
  9. Jah Live On
  10. My Heart
  11. Dem Should A Know
  12. Exile
  13. Cool Nu
  14. Cha-La-Law
  15. Let It Grow
  16. Gideon Red
  17. Can't Get Away
  18. Burdens Heart
  19. Weep
  20. Black People
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Junior Kelly was born Keith Morgan in Kingston Jamaica, but grew up in Spanish town St Catherine. Throughout his childhood, he was surrounded by music, his grandfather and father both played banjo, his mother sang in the Church and his oldest brother Jim was a popular Deejay with the Kilamanjaro Sound system. Adhering to his principled Rastafarian lifestyle, he refused to compromise his lyrical content by writing lewd lyrics or songs disrespecting women.

Junior's career pace accelerated in late 1995 with appearances at major Jamaican stage shows including Reggae Sunsplash and Sting as well as shows in several northeastern American cities. While in America, he also recorded two songs, "Hungry Days" and "Good Tidings" for Willie Carson's Front Page label. He returned to Jamaica to concentrate on his songwriting and met Michael Stanford of M Rush Records for whom he recorded several singles including "Black Woman" and "If Love So Nice".

With Junior's unique voice it's not hard to miss him. This 'best of' album features some of his greatest tunes so far. The album kicks off with the classic tune Can We Meet over the "Help The Needy/No Time" riddim. Kelly's fast paced Bun Down Rome reggae/dancehall tune on the great "Bingo" Riddim contrasts with the sweet love song My Baby. Jah Live On, a true Rastafarian song on which Kelly is praising the great Jah, is excellent, one of my favourite tunes here! Exile is a song where Junior's strong voice is really shining, while one of the last tunes, Let It Grow, is a real relaxing reggae tune.

A must have!