Album review
Just An Ordinary Woman
Pamela Maynard
Charm - Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. I'd Rather Go Blind
  2. Caught You With Your Pants Down
  3. Easy
  4. Wonderful World
  5. Emotions
  6. Dream Dream
  7. Wishing On A Star
  8. Place In The Sun
  9. Call Me All
  10. Young Heart Run Free
  11. Pillow Talk
  12. Let It Be Me
  13. Believe
  14. No Matter What
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Guyana born Pamela Maynard has been a recording artist for the past fifteen years and although her vocal talent was compared to Helen Shapiro when she was a young singer, she's now being compared to Gladys Knight. So, it's obvious that she was asked to perform as Gladys on the UK TV show "Stars In Your Eyes". Pamela Maynard is a versatile singer who is able to sing Reggae, Soul, Jazz, Soca, R'n'B and Gospel. Just a couple of months ago she attracted attention with her UK debut single "Believe", a rework of Cher's international hit, and now she delivers a 14 track album. entitled "Just An Ordinary Woman". However, vocally spoken Pamela Maynard isn't "an ordinary woman" as she possesses an extraordinary strong and distinctive voice. This and her versatility is fully showcased on this album, which is packed with re-workings of songs from such different artists as Smokey Robinson, The Everly Brothers, Jimmy Cliff, Chicken Shack, Bee Gees and Lionel Ritchie. Best tracks include "I'd Rather Go Blind", "Caught You With Your Pants Down" and "Wishing On A Star". Although this album is a nice effort it makes one longing for Pamela singing original tunes.

Teacher & Mr. T.