Just For You
Audley Rollen
November 13, 2004

Track list
  1. You're My Everything
  2. You're My Everything (Remix Bonus Track)
  3. Tonight
  4. My Sunshine
  5. We Deserve Each Other
  6. More I Get More I Want
  7. Seek Him First
  8. God Is Standing By
  9. Hold On To Love
  10. Live And Let Live
  11. Riding For A Fall
  12. All The Woman
  13. All The Woman (Remix Bonus Track)
  14. Irresistible
  15. Just Love
  16. Have Mercy On Me
  17. Have Mercy On Me (Remix Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Audley Rollen (aka Audley Rollins) is a singer, songwriter and musician who honed his craft from the early days of Horace Andy, Dennis Brown, and Robbie Shakespeare. Rollen came to prominence when he recorded for Lloyd Daley's Matador Records during the early 1970's and delivered a string of international hits including "Repatriation Is A Must", All That Glitters is Not Gold", "What's Your Name" and "Someday". Before that Audley was a member of the vocal group The Emotions, (with Leroy Brown, Milton Henry and Lloyd Shakespeare). Simultaneously he was a member of the Hippy Boys Band. It was The Emotions' original recording of the Sonia Pottiger produced "You Can't Stop Me", that gave birth to the Hippy Boys monster instrumental hit "Dr. No Go". Shortly thereafter the group disbanded and Robbie Shakespeare, Audley Rollen, Bernard 'Touter' Harvey,'Benbow', 'Zada', Vin Gordon and Charlie Ace formed the Youth Professional Band, which enjoyed success playing all over Jamaica and the Caribbean. Rollen subsequently migrated to the USA in the late 1970's. To date he has nine solo albums to his credit, including this brand new set produced by veteran Harry A. Mudie.

The latter began his long career in Jamaican music in the late 1950's with productions on the legendary Rasta drummer Count Ossie, namely "Babylon Gone" and "So Long", featuring the drummer alongside great saxophonist Wilton Gaynaire. Mudie, one of the unsung pioneers of Jamaican music, was born in Spanish Town. He developed his interest in music while a pupil at St. Jago High School in the mid-50s and later developed his own sound system, Mudies Hi-Fi. In 1969 he opened the renown nightclub, Scaramouche Gardens, in Spanish Town, which in attendance magnetized people globally. By the end of the decade he had produced some of the heaviest, yet still sweet reggae music of the time which were released on his various record labels, "Moodisc," "Jungle," "Afro," "Jukebox," and in most recent times "Moods". He is one of the first to use strings in reggae music, a practice he continued to brilliantly effect with one of John Holt's best-ever albums, "Time Is The Master". He was fairly active throughout the 1970s, releasing productions like "Drifter" and "Heart Don't Leap" featuring Dennis Walks, "Rome", featuring Lloyd Jones, "Let Me Tell You Boy", featuring the Ebony Sisters, "Run Girl", featuring G.G. Grossett, "Push Me In The Corner", and "Let's Start Again", featuring Cornell Campbell and The Eternals, and "Love Without Feeling", featuring The Heptones. Besides instrumental albums such as "Groovy Jo", featuring Jo Jo Bennett including the monster hit "Leaving Rome", "It May Sound Silly" and "Glady Unlimited", featuring Gladstone Anderson, he also unleashed three great dub albums, "Harry Mudie Meet King Tubby in Dub Conference I, II, and III". He also produced two various artist compilations, "Quad Star Revolution Volumes I & II" featuring deejays such as Big Joe, Prince Heron, and the late I Roy. Other legendary artists recorded by the producer include great instrumentalists such as Ernest Ranglin, Tommy McCook, Lennie Hibbert, Winston Wright and vocalists Freddy McKay, Cecil Wellington aka Nicodemus, Owen Gray and Gregory Isaacs.

Mudie often uses his favorite riddims again and again, as can be witnessed on Audley Rollen's "Just For You". We're treated to a real nice collection of tunes over classic riddims that have stood the test of time. All riddims were recorded in Jamaica from the late sixties into the seventies and were voiced by Rollen at Natural Sound Studio, Miami FL., in 2003-2004. Thus you'll hear original lyrics - except for the two covers, "Riding For A Fall" from John Holt and Al Green's "God Is Standing By" - over great riddims like "Drifter" ("Live And Let Live"), "Heart Don't Leap" ("Seek Him First"), "Rome" ("All The Woman"), "Stick By Me" ("Irresistible"), "Time Is The Master" ("Just Love") and "Love Without Feeling" ("Have Mercy On Me"). The strings and horns arrangements are striking and add a special flavor to the music. The main theme of the tunes performed by Audley Rollen deal with matters of the heart, but there are also a few gospel cuts such as "God Is Standing By", "Have Mercy On Me", "Seek Him First" and "Live And Let Live".

"Just For You" is an enjoyable album that will surely please and entertain the mature listener!