Turn Up The Sound
Jr Yellam
Green&Fresh Productions / Irie Ites Records
April 6, 2014

Track list
  1. Hold A Medi
  2. World Peace feat. Chezidek
  3. Dem Fool
  4. Turn Up The Sound
  5. Full Time Job
  6. Far From Home
  7. Be Conscious
  8. Step By Step RMX
  9. Dub A Medi
  10. World Peace Dub
  11. Dem Fool Dub
  12. Dub Up The Sound
  13. Full Time Dub
  14. Dub From Home
  15. Conscious Dub
  16. Steppin' Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Jr Yellam is a songwriter and French interpreter of American origin, delivering his message in English. He says he finds inspiration in listening to Jamaican artists such as Damian 'Jr Gong' Marley and Yellowman as well as rappers like the group A Tribe Called Quest.

In 2007 he joined the reggae group The Rising Steppers. With this band he made his first appearances in bars and concert halls of Le Mans as well as national jumps in cities such as Bordeaux, Toulouse and Geneva. He also spent some time in the UK, where he could develop further as a musician and performer. He founded the group Green & Fresh in 2010. In early 2012, when he was at the Spring Reggae Festival at the Oasis, he began a musically fruitful collaboration between him and label Irie Ites, both in studio and on stage. He joined stage with artists such as Chezidek, Perfect, Glen Washington, Dawn Penn, Maxi Priest, Tiwony, Ras McBean, Joseph Cotton, Biga Ranx and many others. Jr Yellam continues to mix his musical influences to remain ever present and creative! In 2013 he and Irie Ites Records unleashed his debut set called 'Turn Up The Sound'.

The sixteen track album is presented in a traditional JA showcase style: eight vocal tracks plus the dub versions of the songs. The band Green & Fresh plays the riddims in fine style. From straight 'one drop' riddims to steppers inspired tunes such as Step By Step RMX, the band makes a tight and passionate impression. Check out the dub tunes here, we're sure you'll be impressed by the way the band and the engineers have reworked the riddims in true dub style. The band consists of the following members: Jr Yellam (songwriter), B-Fresh (drums, composer/beatmaker/arranger, dj), Skanky (guitar, composer/arranger), JaMax (guitar, composer/arranger), SulliVibes (keyboards), Babass (bass) and Gabinghi (percussion).

The vocal delivery of Jr Yellam is diverse, at times he reminds us of traditional roots singers, but he also knows how to bring a more dancehall inspired tune such as Full Time Job The album features an awesome track with Chezidek. World Peace is a flawless peace anthem calling urgently for peace in our world. The opener Hold A Medi is a benchmark of quality just like the title song, a steppers inspired boom tune! Further inspired efforts are Be Conscious and Dem Fool, a slow paced rootical tune.

Nice and promising debut set!