K.C. White
Carmor Productions
Digital Release
December 31, 2015

Track list
  1. Don't Panic
  2. Heart Full of Love
  3. How Can U Love
  4. If I Were U
  5. No No No feat. Leroy Sibbles
  6. Mobility
  7. Naah Left
  8. Sellassie I
  9. Silly Games
  10. So Much Trouble
  11. Street Rebel
  12. Thankful For Life
  13. There's A Love
  14. What a World (Jam)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
K.C. White, who was inspired by singers like Bob Marley, Ken Boothe, Delana Stewart of The Gaylads, Alton Ellis and John Holt of The Paragons, made his first recording for Dynamic Sounds in 1972 - a Gregory Isaacs composition called "Man No Dead". In 1973 it was followed by a powerful version of Willie Cobbs' "You Don't Love Me" (aka "No, No, No"), which became a worldwide hit for Dawn Penn in 1994. K.C. White's version was visited again by Big Youth for "Screaming Target", which appeared on the deejay's debut album of the same name. However it was the release of his cover of Gene Chandler & Barbara Acklin's "Anywhere But Nowhere" (originally issued on the Impact! label around 1973, and 1998 re-released on the Soul Prof imprint), that he started to make a name for himself in Jamaica and Europe.

K.C. White continued recording with some local success - "The First Cut Is The Deepest" and "I'm Just A Lonely Man" - before immigrating to the US. Whilst in New York, he enjoyed further recognition with tunes such as "We Need More Love", "Sellasie I", "Can't Go On" and "Keep On Loving You". Besides that he often appeared on stage at concerts featuring US acts such as GQ, The Main Ingredient and The Temptations along with reggae acts out of Jamaica appearing in New York. After several years working and studying to develop his skills and craft as a producer and singer, he returned to the studios, armed with a lot of experience earned throughout the years, to produce a number of albums, including some of his own such as "Try A Little Happiness" (Puff Records), "Reality" (Zola & Zola) "Showcase" (Love People Records), "Signs & Wonder" (Rhino Records) and "Jamaica Pre-Release" (Hawk Records).

After quite some time K.C. White comes up with a new album called "Now". The latter includes the murderous second cut of his sophomore single "No No No", which he recorded a few years after his breakout 1973 tune, when he migrated to New York where he took up work at Brad Osborne's Record Den on White Plains Road in the Bronx, and began working at Bullwackie's nearby studio. It was around this time that he went back to Jamaica and re-cut "No No No" in the updated 'rockers' style, heavier than before, and with Leroy 'Heptone' Sibbles on harmonies. This version was originally released as a 12" single on Brad Osborne's in-house Clocktower label.

Furthermore this set features an updated version of "Sellasie I", an updated version of his Lloyd 'Bullwackie' Barnes produced great mellow roots tune with ringing piano and a spacy dub from 1976. Although this album track is a solid effort, it's the original one we prefer to hear. And there's also songs like "How Can U Love" and "Naah Left", which are underpinned by riddims that sound like they are done back in the 1970s. Also noteworthy are "Heart Full Of Love" and a rendition of Bob Marley's "So Much Trouble", both tunes coming across a well done revitalized version of Augustus Pablo's "Java" riddim. One of the most outstanding effort here is the awesome social commentary "Mobility"... a real killer! Also "Street Rebel" demands the listener's full attention. The album is rounded off with "What A World" on Soul Anbessa's "Abeng" riddim, which was featured on a 2014 released 12" single.

Not every track is a winner, but there's enough worthwhile material included here to make this collection worth hearing.