Keep The Faith
July 26, 2007

Track list
  1. Give Jah Praise
  2. Be Wise & Conscious
  3. Solid Ground
  4. Don't Give Up
  5. Nah Fear
  6. Choosen Ones
  7. Repatriate
  8. Keep On Moving
  9. Youthman Rise
  10. Jah Me Call On
  11. Only Lady
  12. Love And Care
  13. Live Upright feat. Suga Moss
    Bonus tracks
  14. Choosen Ones Dub
  15. Give Jah Praise Dub
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 23-
Very Good -Votes: 12-
Good -Votes: 8-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 2-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 48
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
Having sold more than 15,000 units of his late 2004 released debut album "Born 2 Go High", Lyricson is back with his much anticipated sophomore album entitled "Keep The Faith", which is mixed and recorded by Ghost & Godwin for Jonquet Records. "Keep The Faith" is the French label's maiden release, and it must be said... one could only dream of having such an artist and collection of tunes to enter the music business.

With "Born 2 Go High" Lyricson delivered a very convincing album, one that fully showed Lyricson's lyrical and musical potential. In the past two-and-a-half years the French resident, who delivers his conscious lyrics in English, has honed his skills further through live performances and occasional studio works, and it surely has payed off as "Keep The Faith" is a more solid and balanced set than its predecessor.

Lyricson -- sometimes reminding you of his Jamaican counterpart Turbulence but that doesn't imply that he doesn't have a distinctive style -- has the skills to act either as a singer, singjay or deejay, depending on the riddim he has to ride and, above all, the kind of song he wants to do. And what's more, he does it in truly fine style and with a great deal of vocal control.

In contrast to his first album for Bost & Bim's Special Delivery Music label, in which also various studios in Jamaica and men like Stephen Stanley, Bobby Digital, Earl 'Chinna' Smith, Leroy "Horsemouth' Wallace, Donald Dennis and George Miller were involved, this one is entirely produced in France with the exception of the mixing which is done by Jah D at Roots Lion studio in London, England.

Except for the wonderful lovers tune "Only Lady", all tracks strictly deal with reality and roots & culture. Besides the solid tunes on this album like e.g. "Give Jah Praise", "Be Wise & Conscious" and "Youthman Rise", you'll find quite a few very strong efforts. The latter include the uplifting "Don't Give Up" and the awesome "Keep On Moving", both with backing provided by Bost & Bim. But there's also "Solid Ground" over Back 2 Zion's wicked 'Purple Ting' riddim, "Jah Me Call On" across Elohim's 'Black Marianne' riddim, the beautiful "Repatriate" and the powerful "Choosen Ones", all deserving credits for being amongst the best tracks featured here.

Lyricson's "Keep The Faith" affirms that good reggae albums don't necessarily have to come from Jamaica.

Note: Remarkable, to say the least, is the fact that Lyricson has left a message on the Reggaefrance website in which he asks to boycot his album because he finds the mixing work scamped. Furthermore the artist states that he doesn't want to see it labeled as his second album (he calls it a 'street' album), because most of the tracks haven't been finished properly.