Album review
Everything I Own
Ken Boothe
Trojan Records

Tracking list

  1. The one that I love
  2. You left the water running
  3. Say you
  4. Can't you see
  5. Lady with the starlight
  6. Somewhere
  7. Live good
  8. Old fashion way
  9. Can't fight me down
  10. I'm not for sale
  11. Why baby why
  12. Freedom Street
  13. It's gonna take a miracle
  14. Now I know
  15. Artibella
  16. Stop your crying
  17. I wish it would be peaceful again
  18. Your feeling and mine
  19. Make me feel alright
  20. So nice
  21. Rasta never fail
  22. Second chance
  23. Silver words
  24. Is it because I'm black
  25. Everything I own
  26. Crying over you
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4

"Everything I own" collects classic cuts from Ken Boothe, a singer who is known and loved for his emotive and soulful voice. These recordings date from a period spanning from the late sixties to mid-seventies and were done for producers such as Lloyd Charmers, Phil Pratt and Leslie Kong. Almost inevitable this compilation includes well-known hits as "Silver words", Lady with the starlight", "Everything I own" and "Crying over you", but also noticeable are the updated versions of the old ska number "Artibella", his rocksteady favourite "Thinking" re-titled "So nice", "Live good" and "Freedom Street" as well as "Rasta never fails", one of the first Jamaican singles to overtly advocate the Rastafari religion. You may have heard some of these 26 tracks more than others, but chances are there are some tracks here you've never heard. So, if there are tracks here you don't own in some form this cd is worth the search.

Teacher & Mr. T.