Album review
Kill Dem With Sax
Dean Fraser
RAS Records-Munich
March 6, 2005

Tracking list

  1. Ram Dancehall
  2. The Heathen
  3. One Drop
  4. Roots Rock Reggae
  5. Sax Lover
  6. Young Sax Business
  7. Kill Dem Wid Sax
  8. Fat Sax
  9. Crazy Baldhead
  10. Misty Morning
  11. Is This Love
  12. Sun Is Shining
  13. I'm Hurting Inside
  14. Chant Dem Dong (The Chant)
  15. Time Will Tell
  16. Many Rivers To Cross
  17. Redemption Song
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Lead Instrument : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

It's no accident that Jamaican sax giant Dean Fraser has been asked to play with many of the island's topnotch artists, including Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs, Luciano, Sizzla, Beenie Man, Buju Banton and even Bob Marley, to name a few. His brilliant saxophone work has been heard on literally hundreds of reggae releases. Now a successful label owner in his own right, top-flight reggae producers such as Sly & Robbie, Bobby Digital, and Penthouse's Donovan Germain still call for him on a regular basis, knowing that he's not only an exceptional sax player, but also an accomplished bandleaders and vocal arranger. Between his session work he has somehow found time to record critically acclaimed solo albums for the Ras label the pick from which can be found on this fully remastered album. Most of the tracks gathered on this solid compilation are taken from "Dean Plays Bob Vols 1 & 2". Thus we're treated to masterly interpretations of some of early Wailers' hits like for example this heart-breaking version of "I'm Hurting Inside", as well as material from Marley's latter-day Island period including "The Heathen" and the bubbling "One Drop". Besides that you'll also find four tracks taken from an album he shared with Nicodemus for Whitfield "Witty" Henry. One of these tracks is the wicked "Sax Lover", a cut of Cocoa Tea's "Too Young (To Be My Lover)". The others are the title track "Kill Dem Wid Sax", "Fat Sax" and "Young Sax Business", which uses a similar cut of "Love Is Not A Gamble" as Shabba Ranks' "Wicked In A Bed". Also worth of hearing is the excellent cut of Bunny Wailer's "Ram Dancehall" that opens this set. "Kill Dem Wid Sax" is a well inspired collection of instrumental tunes from a musician who writes quality in capital letters!

Teacher & Mr. T.