Streben Nach Glück
Skycap Records - Rough Trade
August 8, 2008

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Highlights
  3. Sternstunden Int. feat. Mal Élevé (Irie Révoltés) & El Condorsito
  4. Non Plus Ultra
  5. Ein Neuer Morgen feat. Yah Meek
  6. Kriegstreiberpolitik feat. Mr. Reedoo, & Johnny Strange (Culcha Candela)
  7. Alarm
  8. Zu heiß
  9. Frischer Wind feat. Dra-Q & Miss Flint
  10. Keine Rose Ohne Dornen
  11. Die Hoffnung Stirbt Zuletzt
  12. Maskeraden feat. Mr. Reedoo
  13. Selbstbewusstsein 2008
  14. Viel Zu Tun feat. Dodo
  15. Liebe Ist ...
  16. Anruf-Skit
  17. Tag Für Tag
    Bonus Track
  18. Highlights (Streben Nach Glück-Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Finally, more than 3 years after his debut-EP "Ein Neuer Morgen" was released early 2005, German reggae rapper-songwriter Kimoe, former member of (Ganjaman's) Brandstifter - in which also Jr. Randy and Culcha Candela's Mr. Reedoo a.o. were active -, releases his debut full-length album "Streben Nach Glück". The very much hip hop tinged "Intro" is followed by the booming dancehall tune produced alongside longtime associate Greg Danielz - with whom Kimoe, often under the moniker Enfants de Lion, does a lot of (remix-)productions - "Highlights" and the great remake "Sternstunden Int." (recorded in 2006 originally across Big Belly Records' 'Flutes'-riddim) alongside Irie Révoltés' Mal Élevé & Bassrunner's El Condorsíto touching on the melody of Stevie Wonder's "Part Time Lover" that has been released as the first (also download-)single of this album.

Then Kimoe delivers the smooth and smashing lovers tune "Non Plus Ultra" followed by his take in combination with Yah Meek on Krutsch' beautiful melancholic horn driven 'Give Thanks'-riddim. Taking the lyrics to socially engaged level happens on the next tune "Kriegstreiberpolitik" alongside Culcha Candela's Mr. Reedoo & Johnny Strange, before addressing the dancehall massive in "Alarm", using the feel of Tenor Saw's "Ring The Alarm" (without sampling it) and talking about a true hot girl across another bouncing Greg Danielz dancehall riddim in "Zu Heiss". On "Frischer Wind" Berlin's experimental soul, rap and reggae singer Miss Flint - who co-starred so impressively on the recent "Jahcoustix & The Outsideplayers" album - and rapper Dra-Q team up with Kimoe for a wonderful soulful hip hop-tinged tune, after which Kimoe singjays the very fine love-gone-wrong song "Keine Rose Ohne Dornen" and then the bitter yet still positive "Die Hoffnung Stirbt Zuletzt".

Mr. Reedoo joins Kimoe once more for "Maskeraden", sending out a serious message over a firm beat accompanied by the acoustic guitar that is continued from the intro throughout the song before the second remake "Selbtbewusstsein 2008" (originally recorded in 2005 over Ganjaman's 'Too Long'-riddim) shows how strong this song is and what a great songwriter Kimoe is and then Kimoe is joined by Switzerland's Dodo for the very impressive "Viel Zu Tun" with it's wonderful relaxed backing. A more hip hop soulish backing is used for "Liebe Ist ...", a fine tribute to love, followed by an "Anruf Skit" and the extremely impressive "Tag Für Tag" across Irievibrations' 'Hit Drop'-riddim. This "Streben Nach Glück" album, Kimoe's full-length debut that completely lives up to the high expectations following his "Ein Neuer Morgen (EP)", is closed with the bonus track reprise (of both the intro and) "Highlights (Streben Nach Glück Mix)" and everyone really should give this very fine album a spin (and then buy it).