Album review
Major "P"
3 Sons Records

Tracking list

  1. Introduction
  2. Kobaly (Major "P" & D.H.)
  3. Father forgive them
  4. Shadow
  5. Burn it down (Elijah Prophet)
  6. Flip Flop (Major "P" & D.H.)
  7. Jah I can see them (Major "P" & Elijah Prophet)
  8. Girlfriend (Major "P" & Jade)
  9. Girlfriend (Version)
  10. Old account
  11. Don't drink & drive
  12. Blessed assurance (Major "P" & D.H.)
  13. Mama man
  14. X-Hale (Major "P" & Jade)
  15. Ole dwag
  16. You, I Love (Trevor Shields)
  17. God ina me
  18. Apple of my eye
  19. Apple medley
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

"Kobaly" is the debut CD from Kingston JA born and raised Major "P" - real name Clive Mair - who nowadays resides and performs in Canada. This Major "P" is a dancehall deejay who delivers his tunes in a style that comes close to vet deejays like Yellowman. Although raggamuffin is the keyword for most of the tracks on this album no "gun talk" or "slackness" is to be found, only conscious and uplifting tunes ! Furthermore this set of songs contains solo contributions by singers Trevor Shields, Elijah Prophet and Jade (of whom the last two and the one called D.H. also join the Major in some nice combination songs). The anti-war chant "Jah I can see them", the cautionary "Don't drink and drive" and "Blessed Assurance" are the standout tracks on this nice album.

Teacher & Mr. T.