King Tubby meets Rockers Uptown (Deluxe Edition)
Augustus Pablo
March 14, 2004

Track list
  1. Keep On Dubbing
  2. Stop Them Jah
  3. Young Generation Dub
  4. Each One Dub
  5. 555 Dub St.
  6. Brace's Tower Dub
  7. King Tubby Meets The Rockers Uptown
  8. Brace's Tower Dub No. 2
  9. Corner Crew Dub
  10. Skanking Dub
  11. Frozen Dub
  12. Satta Dub
  13. Black Gunn
  14. I Ruthland Close
  15. 1-2-3 Version
  16. Silent Satta
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
A quiet, steady force in Jamaican music for nearly 30 years, Augustus Pablo was an unlikely star. As a sideman, he transformed an ungainly plastic wind/keyboard instrument called the melodica into a mystical horn, blowing eerie, serpentine melodies that conjured up images of a charmed land populated by reggae kings and queens. As a leader, he impressed some of Jamaica's most innovative producers (Lee "Scratch" Perry and King Tubby among them) with his almost telepathic understanding of the dropouts and extended rhythm sequences that made the dub style such an important force in reggae and Western youth-oriented dance music in general. Sadly, he didn't tour the West until 1987, and even then his appearances were few and far between. Augustus Pablo died in May 1999. For more info check out our article on this brilliant musician.

Shanachie has released a handful of Pablo albums and now they are coming up with the reissue of his best album ever. From its dramatic opening - the intro to the dub of Jacob Miller's "Keep On Knocking" - to its shimmering conclusion with Satta Dub the album is - alongside "Blackboard Jungle" - the best dub album ever made. The combination of Pablo's raw drum and bass riddims - Carlton Barrett in an absolutely blinding form - the superb Bobby Ellis' horn arrangements, Errol T's precision engineering at Randy's again - all treated to King Tubby's corruscating mixing techniques, have never been surpassed.

The Deluxe Edition contains some 4 bonus tracks, which were initially only released as Jamaican 45's on Pablo's own labels such as Rockers, Hot Stuff, Message or Yard. The bonus track Black Gunn is an interesting version of the opening tune Keep On Dubbing, the dub to Jacob Miller's 'Keep On Knocking', while 1 Ruthland Close is another take of 555 Crown St.. The immortal Cassava Piece gets reworked on 1-2-3 Version, which itself is the basis for the King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown title track. Finally there's Silent Satta, which tackles the classic Abysinnians tune 'Satta A Massa Gana', on the original album also present as Satta Dub.

Well... essential as ever!