Chain Reaction
May 8, 2005

Track list
  1. People
  2. Black Angel
  3. Red Angel
  4. Phebes
  5. Sethos
  6. Goldcoast
  7. Dusk
  8. Moonshot
  9. Wipeout I
  10. Recall (Wipeout II)
  11. Rocket
  12. Hallucinator
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
This is not neccesarily an album which will apeal to those who bought Rhythm and Sound's work with conventional roots artists such as Cornell Campbell or Willie Williams -- but it is sure to interest those of you who enjoyed the cold, wintery dub structures of tracks such as "Trace", "Roll Off" and "Distance" from the first Rhythm and Sound album, and "History Version" from the "Version" release.

"Sethos" is the only really conventional digital dub track on this album,sounding like early Aba Shanti or Disciples, but it certainly does not represent the overall sound here -- the rest of the selection does indeed, rely on dubwise space, use of silences and huge sub low bass frequencies -- but it is not conventional dub.

But, that is this albums strong point : it uses aspects of dub dynamics, but moves beyond derivation and cliche, to create works of powerful and evocative mood.

"Moonshot" has a backwards spun bass line, looped and harmonic, with jazz hi hats and a dub attitude to mixing -- stopping and starting, cutting out and dropping in new sounds to the soundscape. It sounds almost like an inner city cold response to Zap Pow/ Upsetter's "The River."

"Rocket" is four minutes of huge, relentless and monolithic Drum and Bass pressure -- but with no drums! Just the b line running.

A lot of this work brings to mind the attitude of early EG Records releases such as Mike Brook's dub ambient "Hybrid" album -- Hallucinator/Chain Reaction's "Landlocked" is another powerful, atmospheric work from the same umberella label as Rhythm and Sound, and it should appeal to those of you who love the more ambient driven work of that label.