Blowing Down Trees EP
Lisa Bennett
Lisa Bennett Music
Free Download
December 17, 2013

Track list
  1. Milk & Honey
  2. Apple Tree
  3. My House
  4. Without You
  5. Stay
  6. Stay Rmx
  7. My Love
  8. What I Want
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Born in Brooklyn NY and now residing in Belgium, Lisa Bennett - singer/songwriter with Jamaican roots - has slowly but steadily established her name in the Belgian music scene. And although her name might instantly ring a bell by Reggae fans, she doesn't limit herself to the Reggae genre. And thus you can also expect her to go into other territories including R&B, Ska, Dancehall and Dubstep.

On Lisa Bennett's first EP the listener is mainly treated to her Reggae tunes, although there's a bit of Dancehall and Dubstep included as well. Things get started with "Milk & Honey", not a cover of the Dennis Brown tune, but a cut on the "Heavenless" riddim that was utilized for Half Pint's "Greetings" from 1985. What could have been a real nice lovers tune to listen to (also inna the dance) is spoiled by the real bad mixing of the vocals and riddim, which was done by Lisa Bennett herself. It's a relief to hear the well known Ska fueled single "Apple Tree" on the "Belly Ska" riddim, a minor hit from early 2012. It's an appealing beautiful song that makes you wanna move your dancing feet. A different vibe, but just as good as the previous track is "My House" on the recently released "Puff Puff" riddim. These two tunes fully show that good production work can make the difference. Then it's back to the foundation time with "Without You", which is underpinned by the "Party Time" riddim from Studio One, named after the song The Heptones recorded in 1968. Next are two versions of "Stay", firstly the original track from Dreadsquad's "Digital Rules" riddim and secondly a special (Dubstep) remix of Radikal Guru created by Lisa Bennett herself. Both "My Love" on the "Block Party" riddim and - the far better - "What I Want" on Weedy G's "Big Vibez" riddim round off this "Blowing Down Trees EP".

Without any doubt Lisa Bennett is a very talented artist, but with this EP she shows that she needs a real good producer to take her career to the next stage.