Leave The Collie Alone
Tony Curtis
Cousins Records
September 19, 2006

Track list
  1. Still A Burn
  2. You Hypnotise Me
  3. Hold Me Darling
  4. There Goes My Wife
  5. Leave The Collie
  6. Story Of My Life
  7. Fancy Face
  8. Help
  9. Your Love
  10. Get Ready
  11. Saddest Day Of My Life
  12. Your Love Remix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4
Tony Curtis was born in St. Catherine, Jamaica, West Indies. In 1991, Curtis moved to Ocho Rios where he entered a local talent contest alongside DJ Jigsy King. Curtis won the contest as Best Singer and King was designated the winning DJ. Inspired by their victory Barry O'Hare, then of Roof International, suggested they record at his studio, which resulted in the successful single, "Butterfly". While with the Roof crew Curtis also recorded the haunting "Where Is The Love" in combination with Stan Ryck.

After his success with Roof International, Curtis joined the Stone Love crew, who released the probing "Do You Want To" and by 1993 he had toured Japan. In 1997, the singer had a Jamaican number 1 hit, "Missing You", in combination with ARP and Beenie Man. A year later, he enjoyed an international hit with "My Lady In Red", produced by Carl "Banton" Nelson. While Curtis savoured a successful solo career he also joined the vocal group L.U.S.T., alongside Singing Melody, Thriller U and Lukie D. The combined performers stated that the group was going to put the "flava back into reggae". L.U.S.T. performed at MIDEM 1998 and later in New York at the third Culturama festival to critical acclaim. In addition to his L.U.S.T. project, Curtis established his solo career with a series of hits including, "I Can Fly", "Nobody", "Love Should've Brought You Home", "Home Alone", "Sweet Lady", "Party Time", "Faith", "Lose Your Woman", "You Left Me Lonely", and a combination with Merciless entitled "Married Life".

"Leave The Collie Alone" is an album full of musical flavours where Tony Curtis delivers his sweet vocals passionately. The album starts with the ganja tune "Still A Burn" on the "Money Money" riddim, originally sung by Horace Andy, "Fancy Face" on the "Without Love" riddim and the hit single "Leave The Collie" on the "Watch This Sound" riddim. And, of course, what you would expect on a Tony Curtis album... a lot of lovers songs: "You Hypnotise Me", "Help", "Your Love", "Your Love Remix", the perfect combination of roots and love "Hold Me Darling" and not to forget the hit single "Story Of My Life".

Tony Curtis delivers an album with the great combination of roots and romance. This album promises to break Tony Curtis onto a new level of recognition.