Let's Get Physical
Elephant Man
Bad Boy Entertainment / VP Records - Atlantic (Warner)
April 11, 2008

Elephant Man - Let's Get Physical (Deluxe Version) Track list
  1. Drop Dead
  2. Dem Nah Ready
  3. Feel The Steam feat. Chris Brown
  4. Throw Your Hands Up feat. Rihanna
  5. Five-O feat. Wyclef Jean & P. Diddy
  6. Jump feat. Swizz Beats
  7. Back That Thing On Me feat. Mario Wynans
  8. Our World feat. Demarco
  9. The Way We Roll (Remix) feat. Busta Rhymes & Shaggy
  10. Sweep The Floor
  11. Body Talk feat. Kat Deluna & Jha Jha
  12. Who Wanna
  13. Five-O (Remix) feat. Wyclef Jean, Swizz Beatz, Yung Joc & Assassin
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 6-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 14
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 3/4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
"Let's Get Physical" is Elephant Man's debut album for P. Diddy's that has been postponed for more than half a year, but now it's finally hitting the streets and thanks to the promo-sampler, courtesy of Irie Records, the music shop (and worldwide mailorder) out of Münster, Germany, this is the review of Elephant Man's first release on Sean 'P. Diddy' Combs' Bad Boy Records label, of course resulting in a more mainstream approach on this album.

On "Let's Get Physical" Elephant Man however kicks off in true hardcore dancehall style with the convincing "Drop Dead", recorded for Stephen 'Di Genius' McGregor's Big Ship Productions over his dense 'Tremor'-riddim, immediately followed by the misogynist but very entertaining "Dem Nah Ready" Fi Di Video across Natural Bridge's extremely impressive bumping 'Gully Slime'-riddim, before teenage R&B-idol (and big Elephant Man fan) Chris Brown joins him for the catchy "Feel The Steam" over the 'Brazilian Wax'-riddim.

"Throw Your Hands Up" is the very nice tune with tremendous crossover-appeal alongside Barbados born songbird Rihanna (whose 2005 chartbusting "Pon De Replay" featured Elephant Man on the more aired than the original version remix), before the first single taken from this album "Five-O" on which not only Mr. 'P. Diddy' Combs joins Elephant Man, but also former Fugees member turned superstar Wyclef Jean over a soaring guitar laced beat laid by Wyclef and Jerry Wonder with a major contribution enhancing one of Elephant Man's most laid back deliveries ever.

On "Jump" Elephant Man delivers a massive hip hop tune alongside NYC producer Swizz Beatz that is a sure-bet in any party segment of either a hip hop or a dancehall set, before R&B-singer Mario Wynans is the next guest artist on the least impressive tune on this album "Back That Thing Up" and man of the moment in the hardcore dancehalls Collin Demarco Edwards appears alongside Elephant Man for the extremely impressive "Our World" over Baby G's extremely impressive 'Supa Charge'-riddim.

Elephant Man is in fine form on the next "The Way We Roll (Remix)" but his guests on this track, Brooklyn MC Busta Rhymes & Jamaican American dancehall DJ Shaggy still manage to outshine him with their magnificent verses after which Elephant Man delivers the not too great hip hop dancehall hybrid "Sweep That Floor". Than Dominican Kat Deluna - with whom Elephant Man recorded the very successful "Whine Up" - and former Dipset first lady Jha Jha alongside Elephant Man deliver the fabulous "Body Talk" which incorporates snatches of Olivia Newton-John' 80s fitness anthem "Let's Get Physical" (now you know where the album's title comes from).

The penultimate tune on this album is another hip hop dancehall hybrid with a small reggatón influence "Who Wanna", that is much better than "Sweep That Floor" but still far from the level of the hardcore dancehall tunes included on this set, before the "Five-O Remix" is a great way to finish this album, as it is clearly much stronger than the original, teaming up here with Wyclef again alongside Swizz Beatz, Yung Joc and Assassin for one of the stronger tunes of an entertaining album that could have been much more hardcore dancehall and (therefore) much stronger.