Album review
Let The People Decide
Jerri Jheto
Kadara Records

Tracking list

  1. Let The People Decide
  2. Is It Right?
  3. Sunshine
  4. Bring Back Those Days
  5. Time Will Come
  6. Tell Me
  7. Udara
  8. Naughty Boy
  9. I Can't Do Without You
  10. Listen Children
  11. Suffering
  12. Sunshine (Reprise)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Although in music business since the eighties the name Jerri Jheto will not ring a bell among a wide (reggae) audience. So, let's provide some information about this Nigerian-born singer/musician. As a young boy living with his grandmother, Jerri would listen to the drumming and singing during Tribal meetings at her house. Learning from these early musical experiences, he then immersed himself into Nigeria's vibrant music scene. Over the next few years, he played with some of the legends of African music: Victor Olaiya, King Sunny Adé, Manu Dibango, Osibisa, and Sonny Okosuns to name a few. Jerri Jheto came to Los Angeles in the late '80's to record an Afro-Pop album "Apartheid". However, Jerri's passion for Reggae Music led him towards a new musical direction that seamlessly blended Reggae with High-Life, Afrobeat, Jazz and Pop to create an innovative and unique Music featuring wicked grooves and uplifting lyrics. In 1998 Jerri Jheto released his album "Silver & Gold", was a finalist at the Crossroads 1999 Music Awards and enjoyed a successful Summer 1999 tour of West Africa where he headlined at the prestigious Panafest '99 International Music Festival in Accra, Ghana. Jerri has also appeared at many USA Festivals in 2000, including Afribbean Music and Cultural Festival in Mountain View, CA, the Monterey Bay ReggaeFest, and International Family Festival in Los Angeles, CA.
In December 2000 Los Angeles-based Kadara Records have released Jerri Jheto's latest album entitled "Let The People Decide". The set contains eleven original compositions from an artist who delivers a solid album full of consciousness and positive vibrations. Well constructed and arranged songs, a decent singer expertly backed by a tight playing "live" band (with a real horn section!), appealing backing vocals, an accessible roots-oriented sound and good production quality turn "Let The People Decide" into a very enjoyable and entertaining album. Best tracks are "Let The People Decide", "Is It Right?" "Bring Back Those Days" and "Suffering".

Teacher & Mr. T.