Life Begins
Yaz Alexander
Fully Fledged Productions
December 26, 2007

Track list
  1. This World
  2. Empress
  3. Still Burning
  4. Why Me
  5. Don't Trust Love
  6. Step Right Ahead
  7. Love Has Got A Hold
  8. How Could I Leave
  9. Sister
  10. Get Up Stand Up (Interlude)
  11. I
  12. More Love
  13. Black Pride
  14. Mama
  15. Beautiful
  16. Out In The Rain
  17. Still Burnin' (Remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
Since the emergence of the Lovers rock genre, kick-started by Louisa Marks' plaintive reading of Robert Parker's soul hit "Caught You In A Lie" in 1975, the UK reggae scene has proven to be a fertile ground for female singers. Those familiar with Lovers rock and other styles of reggae produced in the UK throughout the past 30 years need no introduction to artists like Janet Kay, Carroll Thompson, Joy Mack, Sandra Cross, Kofi, Janet Lee Davis, Barbara Nap, Sylvia Tella, Lorna Asher, Dawna Lee, and Aisha, to name a few. And now we can add another silken-voiced songstress to the ever growing list of UK based female artists who are worth checking out.

Grown up in Aermley, Leeds, but based in Birmingham, Yaz Alexander is a vocal force to be reckoned with. Since 1990, when she started working with Pato Banton, she has established herself as one of Britain's most in-demand session and backing vocalists who collaborated with Pato Banton, Steel Pulse, et al. Besides that she has managed to release several solo and independent singles over the years, ranging from covers of Soul II Soul's classics, "Keep On Moving" and "Back To Life", to original material such as "Freedom" (2003) and "This World" (2004), a track that personifies Yaz Alexander's commitment to principle and consciousness.

And now, towards the end of 2007, Fully Fledged Productions unleash Yaz Alexander's debut album "Life Begins", which opens in great style with the aforementioned single "This World", a cut for Gumption Band's "Kotch It!" riddim. After having listened to the album we can only draw one conclusion: Yaz Alexander has a stunning vocal delivery... warm, sultry and ambient. Her amazing voice fully shines on stand outs like "Empress" (across Christopher Birch "Ghetto Blues" riddim, probably best known from Chuck Fender & Cherine no.1 hit "Coming Over Tonight"), "Why Me", the steamy "Love Has Got A Hold", the moving "Sister", the excellent "Black Pride", and "Mama" (on Gregory Isaacs' "Hard Drugs" riddim).

Solid debut album with many captivating tunes, well laid riddims and on top of that... a beautiful voice!