Album review
Light Of My World
Charm-Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. No Blemish
  2. Mine And Only
  3. Thinking About You
  4. Need
  5. Reason For Love
  6. Light Of My World
  7. The Girls Dem Pretty
  8. Whole Heap A Woman
  9. Got All The Girls
  10. What Girls Are For
  11. Learn How To Love
  12. Just Through Mi Love
  13. Buss The Crowd
  14. Wreckage
  15. Babylon Is Burning
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Shortly after the release of the Bobby Digital produced "Da Real Thing" set, we're treated to the next brand new album from the high prolific Sizzla Kalonji. UK's well known reggae journalist John Massouri opens his liner notes to Sizzla's "Light Of My World" as follows: "Be warned, because this album will surprise a lot of people." And indeed, that's exactly what Sizzla's latest album will do, in either positive or negative way. This is definitely not an album for reggae purists and Sizzla fans who only want to hear this bobo dread blaze fire on songs of righteous anger and revolution fueled by modern roots riddims. Most likely they will be disappointed when checking out this set as the man mainly singjays of sex, romance and his eternal quest for his Empress. With the exception of the title track "Light Of My World", which comes across a revamped version of Studio One's classic "Death In The Arena" riddim, he rides a spectrum of musical backdrops, all of them reflecting their African roots in some way. The album opener "No Blemish", delivered over a dark, militant sounding hip-hop flavoured streetbeat, sets the pace for an album that is obviously primed for a wider audience as it is produced in a strong international fashion. The most significant examples of this production style can be heard when playing tracks such as "Mine And Only", "Thinking About You", "Need" and "Whole Heap A Woman", which attract attention through their delicate guitar licks, ethereal backing vocals and pristine arrangements. On the other hand the hardcore dancehall fan are served well with tunes like "Got All The Girls", "Just Through Mi Love" and "Wreckage. As if to say that he will never push aside his musical roots the album closes with a strong tune, the nyahbinghi flavoured "Babylon Is Burning"

Teacher & Mr. T.