Light Your Light
Toots & The Maytals
Fantasy Records-Concord Music Group
December 2, 2007

Track list
  1. Johnny Coolman feat. Derek Trucks
  2. Premature feat. Bonnie Raitt
  3. Pain In My Heart
  4. Love So Strong
  5. Donít Bother Me
  6. Celia
  7. Image Get A Lick
  8. I Gotta Woman
  9. See The Light
  10. Tribute To Coxson/Guns Of Navarone
  11. Do You Remember
  12. Light U Light
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Three years ago Toots & The Maytals released the Grammy Award winning album "True Love", and now this old reggae veteran returns with a brand new album entitled "Light Your Light", celebrating 45 years of recording. When you give this new collection of tunes a listen you will instantly know why this set is yet another strong contender for a Grammy Award. Throughout the entire album the listener is confronted with attempts at crossing genres and a generic sound in order to please the masses. History has learned that such an approach often works well when it comes to achieving a Grammy Award nomination.

This said it's obvious that we're dealing with an album that has little appeal for the true reggae aficionado. We just can't imagine that any reggae fan is waiting for songs like e.g. the remake of his classic "Johnny Coolman" with its awkward appearance of Derek Trucks on slide guitar, the country & western crossover "Premature", done in combination with Bonnie Raitt, and the particularly out of place "Don't Bother Me". Besides that there's also a little too much gospel music included here, which not only tends to get boring, but in the end also raises irritation. It's not all bad... after all we enjoyed the good cover version of Otis Redding's "Pain In My Heart", the upbeat roots-reggae groove of "Celia", and the pleasing reggae rendition of the Ray Charles classic "I've Got A Woman"

We're pretty sure this album will sell, but if it's gonna get a place in the cd collection of the reggae addict is very doubtful.