Album review
Lion Roaring
Roaring Lion

Tracking list

  1. Universal Faith Featuring Prince Malachi
  2. Show The Youths The Rights
  3. Home
  4. None Shall Escape
  5. Helping Hand
  6. Run Dem Away
  7. Love Is Better
  8. Heathen A Heathen
  9. The Truth
  10. Can't Be No One Else
  11. Jah Live Up Featuring Singing Colone
  12. Ones That Are Close
  13. Rich And Switch Featuring Singing Colone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Born Noel Lee in the heart of Kingston, Jamaica, 30-year-old singjay Roaring Lion spent most of his adolescent life in Westmoreland before moving to live permanently in Harbour View. In the late eighties / early nineties he started his recording career when he recorded a few songs with a little-known Jamaican record label. However, it actually lasted until the late nineties that Roaring Lion managed to draw attention, not least to the fact that he had become a member of Phillip "Fatis" Burrell's Xterminator Crew, to whom he was introduced by his close friend, veteran singer Fred Locks. For the highly acclaimed Xterminator production team Roaring Lion recorded songs such as "Rivers To Cross", "Calling For Peace","Mama Works", "Home" and a combination with Singing Cologne called "Rich and Switch". Especially the absolutely wicked cut "Calling For Peace" - unfortunately not included on this album - and "Rich And Switch" took Roaring Lion's musical career in high gear as these singles got a lot of rotation on local radio stations.
Now the time has come to bring this artist to a broader audience and this album is truly a good starting point. Its strong opener - a wicked combination with Prince Malachi - immediately grabs you and sets the pace for what turns out to be a noticeable debut album. Great, ever conscious and uplifting lyrics (included in the booklet) are delivered in his gravelly voice and the solid, sometimes outstanding riddims laid by the Xterminator Crew - consisting of Sly Dunbar O.D., Donald Dennis, M. Miller, Winston Bowen, Stephen Stanley and M. Collins - underpin Roaring Lion's singjay style to full effect. It's always hard to point out standouts within a solid album but our favourite tracks include "Univeral Pain", "Home", "Heathen A Heathen", "The Truth" and "Ones That Are Close".
Just wondering...is it purely coincidence that Sizzla's as well as Roaring Lion's debut album are released by RAS Records !?

Teacher & Mr. T.