Album review
Liquid Brass
Jah Thomas
Silver Kamel Audio
September 12 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Liquid Brass
  2. Easy In The Dance
  3. Bitter Sweet
  4. Loving Eyes
  5. Baghdad Bizarre
  6. Encomium For Coxsone
  7. Steppin' With My Lady
  8. Forever Temptation
  9. Rocking Steady
  10. Swinging Session
  11. Small Talk
  12. Summer Serenade
  13. Daylight A Come
  14. 125th Street Shuffle
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

This entertaining set consists of fourteen warm and easy instrumental tunes produced by legendary roots reggae producer Nkrumah Thomas (better known as deejay Jah Thomas). Featured are the trumpet and saxophone of veteran Zap Pow man and Cedric 'Im' Brooks partner David Madden and one Mathieu Bost. Here you will hear a magnificent collection of classic (and some new) regggae riddims supplied by Mafia & Fluxy, Sly & Robbie and the Roots Radics. These names stand surety for a top notch quality sound, with solid bass lines, playful percussion and guitar and smooth piano and organ. A special homage is paid to the late Sir Coxsone Dodd -Encomium for Coxsone, owner and producer of Studio One, the first black owned studio of Jamaica. The album was recorded at Tuff Gong & Scorpio, mixed at Scorpio and engineered by Adrian.
Great set to drive to or have on at your dinner or BBQ party...

Teacher & Mr. T.

Buy the CD