Album review
Live & Jammin
Israel Vibration
December 9, 2003

Tracking list

  1. Warm Up
  2. African Unification
  3. Rockfort Rock
  4. Jammin
  5. Vultures
  6. Level Every Angle
  7. Ball Of Fire
  8. Get Up" n Go
  9. Why Worry
  10. Never Gone Hurt You
  11. Cool And Calm
  12. Jah Runnings
  13. Feelin Irie
  14. Licks & Kicks
  15. The Same Song
  16. Red Eyes
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Israel Vibration have treated their fans to quite some official live albums, and here's one again that can be added to the diehard fan's collection. "Live And Jammin" - also available as DVD with a lot of specials - is the follow-up to the 1997 released "Live Again!" album. Israel Vibration was formed by Apple, Wiss and Skelly, three victims of the polio epidemic that swept Jamaica in the late '50s. Since the day that these three Jamaicans decided to form a reggae vocal group they have fought for their abiding belief in Rastafari. Their unique brand of of gentle rural sounding harmonies and conscious Rasta lyrics has consolidated their reputation as one of the best vocal harmony trios in the business, with regular releases, mostly on the RAS label. In the late nineties Apple left the group to embark a solo career. However Wiss and Skelly continued to record and perform live. This brand new live album of the duo was recorded at the Exo 7 concert hall during their last French tour in January 2003. Wiss and Skelly, backed by the ever present Roots Radics Band, are performing all their classics - with "The Same Song" probably being one of their best known - as well as new tracks coming from their last studio album called "Fighting Soldiers". Even though this album catches the "live" vibes quite well, it suffers from that fact that we've heard it all before, thus making it less exciting in the end.

Teacher & Mr. T.