Album review
Cultural Livity ~ Live Culture '98

Tracking list

  1. Introduction
  2. Love shines bright
  3. Slice of Mt. Zion
  4. Tribal war
  5. See dem a come
  6. Jah Rastafari
  7. Christopher Colombus
  8. Zion Gate
  9. Natty takin' over
  10. Land where we belong
  11. One stone
  12. Down in Jamaica
  13. International herb
  14. I'm not ashamed
  15. Two sevens clash
  16. Never get weary
  17. So long Rastafari calling
  18. Conquering lion of Jah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

The initial vocal trio Culture was formed by lead vocalist Joseph Hill and harmony singers Albert "Randolph" Walker and Kenneth Paley. Joseph Hill had already recorded the sublime "Behold The Land" (included on this live album as well) for Coxsone Dodd's Studio One imprint in 1972. Their 1977 released "Two Sevens Clash" set is their most celebrated album to date. After this release the trio entered an extremely prolific period in their career, recording excellent albums and 12" singles. The original Culture line-up split up in 1982, and since Joseph Hill - as a solo performer or with additional backing vocalists, but always using the name Culture - has enjoyed considerable success with a string of quality roots albums.
Those who have witnessed a live performance of Joseph Hill & Culture (as we did several times) can only agree with the statement on the sleeve of this album that "the upfull vibes and powerful spirit of a live Culture performance is an experience that will live with you for-iver". And now, for the very first time, Joseph Hill unleashes an official live album that not only captures an extraordinary performer on stage, but it is also a timeless document of roots music and the great songs he has given his many fans during his more than two decades lasting career.

More Culture reviews :
Trust Me
RAS Portraits...Culture

Teacher & Mr. T.