Live On The Battlefield
Anthony B
Next Music/Jahmin' Records-Walboomers Music
July 9, 2002

Track list
Disc 1.

  1. Intro : Burnin' And Lootin'
  2. Storm Winds
  3. Hurt Di Heart
  4. Universal Struggle
  5. Raid Di Barn
  6. Good Life
  7. Joy
  8. Mr. Heartless
  9. Equal Rights
  10. Johnny B. Goode
  11. Fire Pon Rome
  12. Swarm Me
  13. Waan Back
  14. Cut Out That
  15. Fire Dance
Disc 2.

  1. I Don't Wanna Lose
  2. Bun Down Sodom
  3. One Thing
  4. Prophecy A Reveal
  5. Damage
  6. Family Business
  7. Jerusalem
  8. Stand Up & Fight
  9. Musical Fire
  10. One Love - Instrumental
  11. Give Thanks
  12. Fireman
  13. Rumour
  14. Love Or Infatuation
  15. Redder Than Red / Faxx
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Anthony B, well known to the masses, made his recording debut in 1993, when he voiced a single in combination with singer Little Devon. However, his musical story really started when he was introduced to producer Richard "Bello" Bell of the "Star Trail" label. Since then Anthony B has released over 100 singles and 7 albums and also appeared on some 60 compilation albums. Through this notable amount of releases, but also thanks to his extensive touring schedule which brought him to large audiences outside Jamaica, Anthony B has managed to become one of the most prominent representatives of the new Jamaican conscious movement that emerged in the second half of the nineties. Fearing not the depth of political lyrics, Anthony B physically and spiritually committed himself to the universal struggle of the oppressed. Reggae music still has a revolutionary spirit and this is what he reminds us.

The double-cd set "Live On the Battlefield" presents to fans of Anthony B a chance to hear him live at work. Recorded at Le Bikini in Toulouse, France on 10th July 2001 and mixed at Tuff Gong Studio by renown Lynford "Fatta" Marshall this set provides a good impression of Anthony B's energy and conscious vibe when he's performing in front of an audience. Backed by a tight playing Star Trail Family Band - consisting of Steve "Snagga" Richards (drums), Samuel "One Drop" Richards (bass), Lenval "Shayar" Jarrett (guitar), Edward "Keysie" Jackson (keyboards) - and the female backing vocalists Novlette Williams and Makiesha McTaggart, he delivers many of his best known tunes including hits such as "Universal Struggle", "Fire Pon Rome", "Bun Down Sodom", "One Thing" and "Musical Fire. Also featured are two covers, "Equal Rights" and "Johnny B. Goode", actually a homage to his mentor Peter Tosh.

"Live On the Battlefield" is Anthony B's first live album and it's a winner!