Album review
Irie Time
Live Up!
Inherent Music
28 - 10 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. The See
  2. Comin' Home
  3. What Ya' Doin'
  4. Right Thing Now
  5. Almost Home
  6. Island Romance
  7. Sweet Talk
  8. Reggae Music
  9. Won't You Come Love Me
  10. Infinity Train (Hop Eon)
  11. On and On
  12. Take Time To Know Me
  13. Oh Jah Jah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Irie Time is a roots rock reggae band of culturally-diverse musicians based in Houston, Texas, performing Reggae and Soca music. The 11-year-old reggae band consists of Eric Porter (drums, percussion), Jairus Mage (bass, vocals), Lars Senuta (keyboards, vocals) and Scottie McDonald (guitar, lead vocals). The focus of the band is on originality, and it's the group's intent that songwriting direct the scope of their efforts. Irie Time released their second CD in 1995, and while performing primarily throughout the Texas-Louisiana region, have traveled as far away as Miami, Tucson and Detroit promoting their releases. In 1996, Irie Time secured a licensing deal for the country of New Guinea, and released nationally an album and two videos there. The popularity of this release has broadened interest in the band, and additional licensing agreements are in the works. Album tracks were recorded in Jamaica for an 18-song CD entitled "Island Romance" which was released in 1998. A companion dub album, "Irie Time In Dub", was produced in 2000. The group performed a series of dates in Germany, Europe, during the summer of 2001 and now their brand new album "Live Up!" has hit the streets.
"Live Up!" showcases Irie Time performing their all-original, well arranged songs in front of an enthusiastic audience. It's obvious that these musicians have been working together for a very long time as each riddim is played very tight and thus stands solid as a rock. Leadsinger Scottie McDonald and the rest of Irie Time treats the listener to tunes dealing with reality and matters of the heart. The music included here is a nice blend of reggae, soca and dub outings with Irie Time coming at their very best in tunes such as the bouncing "Comin' Home", the wonderful "Almost Home", "Reggae Music" and "Infinity Train (Hop Eon)". Overall opinion is that Irie Time has delivered an enjoyable "live" album, which fully showcases that this quartet is well worth checking out on cd as well as in concert.

Teacher & Mr. T.          Buy the CD