Album review
Wow! Chica Bow Bow! ~ Reggae Live Sessions Vol. 1
U Roy

Tracking list

  1. Reggae party
  2. Ghetto youth stand up
  3. Commercial dreadlocks
  4. Boy on my mind
  5. True born African
  6. She's a rasta woman
  7. Jah Jah love
  8. Keep on running
  9. Go there natty
  10. Soul rebel
  11. Taken from Africa
  12. Amen
  13. Wear you to the ball
  14. Pass the kutchie
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Starting his career in the mid-sixties Ewart Beckfort aka U Roy spearheaded a musical revolution in the seventies, which forever changed the sound and style of reggae music. It was producer Duke Reid of Treasure Isle fame who issued "Wake The Town" the debut single of this deejay pioneer. It caused a real sensation in Jamaica and its two immediate follow-ups proved just as popular. In the mid-seventies U Roy achieved international recognition and appreciation with a number of albums released by Virgin Records. He went on to score further successes with Tappa Zukie in the late eighties. In the nineties U Roy linked up with London-based Mad Professor who produced this Jamaican veteran deejay with considerable emphaty, which led to a highly acclaimed comeback as a recording artist and live performer. His classic toasting style has proved durable. This live recording captures "daddy" U Roy delivering his audience fine tunes from the past and present in the classic style he created.

Note 1: Recorded live "U Roy Europe Tour 1997", Paris, France.
Note 2: Also available on video.

Teacher & Mr. T.