Album review
Living Dub Volume 4
Burning Spear

Tracking list

  1. Dub It Clean
  2. Dub Appointment
  3. First Time Dub
  4. Physician Dub
  5. Jah Dub
  6. Dub Smart
  7. Peaceful Dub
  8. Dub African
  9. My Island Dub
  10. Dub Development (Not credited on the sleeve)
  11. Music Dub
  12. Loving Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

In 1997 roots reggae lovers all over the world welcomed the release of Burning Spear's Appointment With His Majesty. That reggae vet Winston Rodney aka Burning Spear still could be regarded as a major force in reggae music was confirmed by the fact that this album got a Grammy nomination.
Now, two years after "Appointment With His Majesty" was released, US-based Heartbeat Records brings us its dub companion "Living Dub Volume 4". Just like the previous three volumes in Burning Spear's "Living Dub" series Winston Rodney has employed producer, musician and - in this case - engineer extraordinaire Barry O'Hare for the dub treatment. It's evident that the engineer plays a key role in the creation of the dub tracks and in this case Barry O'Hare's approach has led to a dub form in which all seperate parts of Spear's music are enlarged yet always connected to each other. The dub outings not only express but also concentrate on all elements of Burning Spear's delivery thus providing a glance through his highly acclaimed rootical sound. His unique voice, the arrangements and structure of his songs, the musical styling of the solid playing backing band and, of course, his spiritual and uplifting delivery can all be witnessed in full force. The tracks on this contemporary dub album are modern, clean and crisp, not exactly the kind of dubs the dubheads are looking for but very enjoyable in its own right.

Teacher & Mr. T.