Album review
Living Every Word
Ya Man Music
December 24 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Sad Tomorrow feat. Spragga Benz, Bling Dawg & Tarrus Riley
  2. Jah Time
  3. Sweet Island Golden Sun
  4. Stay Tuned
  5. Toxic Tears
  6. Feel Special
  7. Don't Throw It Away
  8. Sunshine Lady
  9. Redeem Yourself
  10. She Cries
  11. County Jail
  12. Walking Talking Boom
  13. Time
  14. Nothing To Lose
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Even though his critical acclaimed debut album, "Smoke In The Wind", was released in 1999, singer, songwriter and guitarist Lavaska (real name Lavaskar Whitley) is still an unknown name among the reggae massive worldwide. Now here's his sophomore effort entitled "Living Every Word", an album composed of all original material. It features stalwart musicians like Dean Fraser, Leebert "Gibby" Morrison, Rudy Valentino, Paul "I-Tek" Gauntlette and "Big Bird" Baillie, and is produced by Morris McKenzie and Courtney Crichton for "Ya Man Music". On this new set Lavaska mixes folk, reggae, rock and pop styles, sprinkled with the sounds of kette drum, horns and violin. Thus he has created a easily accessible sound that incorporates all musical ingredients needed for a strong crossover appeal. Add his distinct raspy voice and the impeccable production works and it's obvious that this collection of tunes not only tries to reach the reggae fans, but also aims at a broad, pop rock oriented audience. Prime examples of tunes that musically are far away from reggae music are "County Jail" and "Walking Talking Boom". On the other hand this album has a few nice reggae tunes such as the Ska fueled "Don't Throw It Away" and "She Cries". Due to the fact that "Living Every Word" isn't exactly an album that will be highly appreciated by true reggae fans, it's doubtful that it will put Lavaska's name on the reggae map.

Teacher & Mr. T.