Album review
Living In The Positive
December 14 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Living in the Positive
  2. African Spirit
  3. Herb and Loving
  4. Dangerous
  5. Black and Comely
  6. New Song
  7. Where We Belong
  8. No Love
  9. Ithiopia
  10. Riding On
  11. Rise Up
  12. Wolf Catcher
  13. Under Attack
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Dominican Nasio Fontaine woke up the modern roots scene with his debut release "Reggae Power" in 1994, and the follow-up EP "Wolf Catcher" (1997) and album "Revolution" (1999) served notice that a budding genius was in our midst. Those of us familiar with his work have waited a long time for his third release, the one we all felt would be a masterpiece, and "Living in the Positive" - now re-issued and made available on a wider scale, and also including "Wolf Catcher" and "Under Attack", two excellent earlier released tunes - doesn't disappoint. In this reviewer's humble opinion, this is a top release. Nasio's soulful, slightly rough-edged voice and upful lyrics hit the sweet spot, and the use of live musicians including horns and occasional well-placed guitar solos are the perfect complement. The title track sets the tone right away, and nuff gems follow - "African Spirit," "Herb and Loving," "African Spirit" and the classic "New Song" are the highlights, but every song is top-notch roots. Simply put, this album is a must-have for any roots lover.
A more detailed review is available from our friend Professor Skank at www.skankproductions.com, and you can learn more about this wonderful artist at www.nasioreggae.com

Review courtesy of Professor Skank.