Livin Up
The Reggae Bubblers
Reggae Bubblers
August 13, 2008

Track list
  1. Rastafari
  2. Wanted Children
  3. Ethiopia
  4. Struggles Of Life
  5. St. Croix To Shashamane
  6. Tug Of War (Tug A War Game)
  7. Pain And Misery
  8. Don't Insult My Intelligence
  9. Tough Get Going
  10. What Must I Do
  11. Good Time
  12. Life And Illusion
  13. Oh Girl
  14. Life In This World
  15. Natty
  16. Ethiopian Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2
The 2007 released "Livin Up" is The Reggae Bubblers' fourth full length album, which was preceded by "Give A Little Love" (2004), "Hills And Valleys" (2005), and "Live On Assignment" (2006). Along with The Reggae Bubblers albums came three compilation sets in the "Black Starliner" series featuring various Virgin Islands artists across riddims produced and played with live instrumentation by The Reggae Bubblers themselves.

Formed in 2001 The Reggae Bubblers, a conscious Roots Reggae band out of St. Croix, now consists of brothers Cheech and Hayba Warner and furthermore Kanjah "Jah-G" Sweeney, Gabri Selasie, Tyronne "T-Rock" Davis, Steve Davis, and Merkey Auguste. In contrast to the music from artists like Midnite, Abja, Dezarie, Ras Attutude and Danny I to name a few, they produce a mellow, less hard-edged kind of Roots sound. It makes listening to their music a common affair as it lacks remarkable twists and turns to keep you involved. Cheech and Hayba sing about Rastafari, love, going back back to Africa, and reality, but too often they come up with avarage lyrics and thus they fail to make a serious impression. Recommended songs are "Rastafari", "Don't Insult My Intelligence", "Life In This World", and "Natty".

The Reggae Bubblers' "Livin Up" is a nice addition to the strong body of work eminating from St. Croix... nothing more, nothing less.

Buy the CD