For Your Consideration
Lloyd Brown
Cou$ins Records / Black Arrow
February 16, 2010

Lloyd Brown - For Your Consideration Track list
  1. Intro / For Your Consideration
  2. Survival
  3. Know Yourself
  4. Live The Life You Love feat. Sweetie Irie & Chukki Starr
  5. On That Note
  6. Empress One Away
  7. Walk And Roll
  8. Shine Your Love
  9. Place In The Sun
  10. It's Not About
  11. Badbwoy feat. Mr. Williamz & Juxci D
  12. Find The Solution feat. Don Ricardo
  13. Blah, Blah, Blah
  14. A Song About Nothing
  15. Chant Them Down
  16. Cold Blooded
  17. Sweet Bitter Earth
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 10-
Very Good -Votes: 5-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 18
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Highly rated UK based vocalist Lloyd Brown follows up his great albums "Against The Grain", "Dreams To Remember", "Really Together" with Fiona, "Silver", "Said And Done", and the self-produced album "Brownie Points", with this wonderful "For Your Consideration" album, on which Lloyd Brown proves once more that he is one of the UK's finest singers and a great composer and lyricist as well.

The album (#13) opens after a very thoughtful 3 minutes plus spoken "Intro / For Your Consideration" that includes Lloyd Brown's lines some promoters and some producers, dem is nothing but demoters and reducers followed by the beautiful "Survival" that grows on you each time you listen to it, the majestic "Know Yourself" across the Lloyd Campbell version of Bob Marley's 'Jah Live'-riddim and "Live The Life You Love", a wicked interpretation of the Wailing Souls' 1978 Channel One scorcher performed "Jah Give Us Life" by Lloyd Brown alongside UK veteran deejay and singjay Sweetie Irie & Chukki Starr.

"On That Note" is a very witty tune produced by Gregory Toulgoat and Igor Amani on which he dismisses his former lady before the Mike Brooks and Paul Logan produced superb song about his current lady "Empress One Away" that keeps him in a lovers mood throughtout "Walk And Roll", his take on Roydon Foster's 1989 lovers rock gem "Shine Your Love" and the Carol Simms penned "Place In The Sun". Then he rides a phenomenal Channel One (reminiscent of old school Gregory Isaacs) riddim for the magnificent "It's Not About" who you know but it's how you live and another three-the-hardway combination, this time with BBC UK Artiste of the year 2008 Mr. Williamz and Juxci D for a phenomenal anti gangsta tune "Badbwoy" across the Heptones classic 'Book Of Rules'-riddim from 1973 and "Find The Solution" co-written by and in combination with UK lovers rock stalwart Don Ricardo. Kicking straight into the faces of all haters, hypocrites and wannabes is the excellent - probably biggest tune of the album - "Blah, Blah, Blah" and than he shows he can even entertain you with "A Song About Nothing".

How strong Lloyd Brown is doing foundation roots is shown by the wonderful delivery of his "Chant Them Down" lyrics over Delroy Wilson's classic 'Better Must Come'-riddim and the downright brilliant "Cold Blooded" over one of the best ever relicks of Bob Marley's 'Natural Mystic' produced by Rootdown Records' labelboss and in-house producer Thilo 'Teka' Jocks. Even the last cut is another relick done to perfection, riding a 1968 Lloyd Charmers riddim for "Sweet Bitter Earth" to finish an album that is an absolute must have!!! Lloyd Brown has once more released a superb album for his own Riddimworks label, once more licensed to Donville Davis, who must be extremely glad to be able to distribute a scorcher like this!