Reggae Max
Lloyd Brown
Jet Star
October 15, 2006

Track list
  1. Main Squeeze
  2. Sharing The Night
  3. It's A Love Thing feat. Tippa Irie
  4. Love You Down
  5. Lonely Girl
  6. Fill Me In
  7. Black Bags
  8. This You Must Know feat. Don Campbell
  9. Put It Down
  10. Hook It Up
  11. Memories
  12. Figures 8
  13. Satisfy My Soul
  14. These Arms Of Mine
  15. No Way No How
  16. I Know
  17. Regignition
  18. With These Eyes
  19. Maria
  20. Food For Thought
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4
Born and raised in London to Jamaican parents, he began his career in 1979 by dee-jaying in "blues-dances" before progressing on fully fledged sound-systems in the early eighties with London-based sound-systems Marcus, Exodus and East Man. After taking a sabbatical in Jamaica, he then joined vocal harmony group Sweet Distortion, who were voted Best Reggae Newcomers by the readers of Black Echoes in 1984, just prior to their guest appearance on the BRAFA (British Reggae Artists Famine Appeal) single, Let's Make Africa Green Again. Led by Lloyd’s namesake and early source of musical inspiration, Dennis Brown, this record helped raised funds for Ethiopian famine victims, and remains a milestone of UK reggae history. By 1987 Sweet Distortion had successfully auditioned for the part of the Jackson Five in the acclaimed British musical, Black Heroes In The Hall Of Fame, but split up soon afterwards, leaving Lloyd free to pursue a successful solo career.

The set features nuff Cave productions, the Jet Star in-house production team, which produced hit riddims such as Thunder, Weedacome, Still Water and The Bandit, to name just a few.

The album starts with the sweet Main Squeeze over the magnificent "Columbus" riddim, courtesy of Burning Spear. There is also the massively successful cover of Craig David's Fill Me In, a tune which rides the Thunder riddim and Put It Down, a great song over Peter Tosh's "Legalize It" riddim. Hook It Up is on the same riddim as Luciano "Bandits", included on Luciano's "Gold" album (also reviewed on this website). Lloyd brown's mix between Love and Roots stays sweet. He really shines on the relaxing No Way No How and the compelling romance tune Black Bags.

This is a good album to have intimate moments with your girl/man.