Jamaica, Island In The Sun
ZiggyBlacks Productions / New Sound / MacLes Factory
Digital Release
March 3, 2014

Track list
  1. Sounds Of Silence
  2. Never Knew Your Waters feat. Mister Nota
  3. Jamaica, Island In The Sun
  4. Murder She Wrote
  5. Blazing Fyah
  6. Flames & Thunder
  7. Lost Along The Way
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Hot on the heels of his debut album "Solvation", which hit the streets in the fall of 2013, soulful reggae singer Likle Mystic comes up with a 7-track EP called "Jamaica, Island In the Sun". Although not exactly a newcomer in the reggae, it lasted a few decades before Likle Mystic attracted some attention. It was last year that the singer started to make a name for himself with cuts on riddims such as "3 Wayz" and "Puff Puff" and a number of singles, culminating with the release of his album "Solvation".

And now, dropping just in time for his very first European tour which will take him to Germany, Denmark, Belgium, Sweden, the Netherlands, France, Portugal, Poland and Italy in April/May, there's the release of the "Jamaica, Island In the Sun" EP. While the "Solvation" set more or less was a mixed bag, this is a more balanced collection of tunes and thus makes a better impression throughout. Things get started with the joyful sounding "Sounds Of Silence", an infectious song about happiness and being thankful. Then the mood changes with the awesome "Never Knew Your Waters", a lovers lament which features Mister Nota who adds a nice deejay part in Spanish. Wicked bassline!! The title track, "Jamaica, Island In the Sun", a cheerful song about aspects of life on Jamaica. A nice song, but that's about it. The first single released off the EP, "Murder She Wrote", is a solid conscious effort in which Likle Mystic talks about violence against women. Next comes the militant "Blazing Fyah", a killer tune that perfectly fits in the Reggae Revival wave that is going on Jamaica. "Flames & Thunder" is known from the wicked "Puff Puff Riddim" set, and here it still makes a good impression. The decent "Lost Along the Way" brings a conscious and uplifting message and is worth hearing.

This is a very enjoyable EP, which deserves the attention of the avid reggae fan.