Long Journey
Oneness Records
March 13, 2010

Naptali - Long Journey Track list
  1. Show Dem Love
  2. What Goes Around
  3. Long Journey
  4. And They Cry feat. Sara Lugo
  5. Grandma feat. Arofat
  6. Fire Burn
  7. Seven Miles feat. Luciano
  8. What They're Fighting For
  9. More Love feat. Lutan Fyah & Arofat
  10. Rise Up In The Morning
  11. Redeemer
  12. The Law Of Attraction
  13. We The People
  14. Seven Brothers
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 7-
Very Good -Votes: 5-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 14
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Naptali -- meaning 'my struggle' -- hails from Delacree Park, Kingston 13, but was born and raised in Spaulding, Clarendon. From an early age he was destined to explore his musical talents. His passion for music first emerged when he was very young and in 1995, then 19 years old, he decided to nourish this passion by becoming a singer. Then going by the name Redneck he began crafting melodic harmonies fused with a powerful message. In 2000 the man from Clarendon made the trip to the Mecca of Jamaican music, Kingston, a place he would call home.

It was here that he was able to link up with the internationally known Luciano in 2003. After beholding the young singer's gift and infinite potential Luciano provided the youngster with guidance and encouragement, which helped him nurture his talent. It was luciano who upon realizing that this young prodigy was born in the month of January and was thus a Capricornian, bestowed upon him the moniker Naptali marking an important step in his musical journey. Armed with a firm belief in righteousness he chose to embrace the livity of Rastafari, in his own words "Rastafari is life, I a Rasta from birth." His musical influences range from Sizzla and Jah Cure to Dennis Brown and Bob Marley, and it's obvious that Rastafari and the teachings of Hailie Selassie have played an important role in his life.

Through the release of singles such as "Fire Burn" and "More Love" in combination with Lutan Fyah & Arofat, Naptali introduced himself to the European reggae massive as a singer with a distinctive sweet voice and original style. And now this artist on the rise comes up with a 14 track debut album, which was more than two years in the making. Thus it took a very long time before "Long Journey" could finally hit the streets, but it certainly pays off. This set is truly worth hearing as it features solid to excellent tunes full of consciousness, mainly underpinned by "live" played original 'one drop' riddims, from beginning to end. Besides great solo efforts such as "Fire Burn" over a relick of Inner Circle's "Bad Boys" riddim, the title track "Long Journey", the powerful "Law Of Attraction", the awesome "Redeemer" and "Rise Up In The Morning", the album also features worthwhile combinations with the likes of the relatively unknown Sara Lugo and Arofat and the Jamaican stars Lutan Fyah and Luciano. The combination tunes "Seven Miles" and "More Love" on the "General Key" riddim are strong cuts, while "And They Cry" and "Grandma" are decent pieces.

"Long Journey" shows that Naptali has real potential and that he's definitely an artist to look for in the near future!