Lord Of The Dance
Kendrick Andy
October 11, 2005

Track list
  1. Praise Him
  2. Hearsay
  3. Madness And Badness
  4. Roots Lady
  5. Easy Rider
  6. Loving You
  7. Wanted
  8. Government Lies
  9. Push Comes To Shove
  10. Another Night In The Ghetto
  11. What If The Wicked
  12. Bush Master
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2
Kendrick Andy is a hardly prolific roots singer who truly deserves a wider recognition, but due to certain circumstances failed to achieve a decent breakthrough. His debut album "Another Night In The Ghetto" -- recorded at Channel One Recording Studio, Kingston JA, and produced by Martin Campbell -- was released in May 1995 on the UK based "Fence Beater" imprint. Four years later the same record label unleashed the cd "African Blood". (Don't know whether this is a new release or a re-issue of "Another Night In The Ghetto"). Now there's a brand new 12 track album, "Lord Of The Dance", again produced by Little Lord Creator aka Martin Campbell, who has done a very good job. Those who are familiar with Martin Campbell's music know that he has developed an original and highly distinctive style as a singer, songwriter and producer, strongly influenced by the music produced at Channel One on Maxfield Avenue, Kingston JA. "Lord Of The Dance" contains sufferer's music which is inspired by the late 1970s and 1980s period in Jamaican music and therefore it's obvious that the unsuspecting listener will define the music heard on this cd as vintage music. But it isn't, because the tunes featured here were recorded over the past ten years and include remixes of "Loving You" and "Another Night In The Ghetto", both already known from Kendrick Andy's debut set. Tracks such as "Praise Him", "Madness And Badness", "Government Lies", "What If The Wicked" and "Another Night In The Ghetto" are highlights and prime examples of very good singing and excellent songwriting. All in all this is a great album which we highly recommend, even though it will be very hard to find (unless a decent record company picks it up).