Album review
Dawna Lee
MCS Records

Tracking list

  1. Jah live (interlude)
  2. He's my friend
  3. Ababajoni
  4. You're my love
  5. Love can see us through
  6. If you can feel (interlude)
  7. A1 lover
  8. Get real closer
  9. Love (interlude)
  10. Love
  11. Man of honor
  12. You're my baby
  13. Say that you love me
  14. Stronger force
  15. Single girl
  16. My way
  17. Heathen (interlude)
  18. Live a little love
  19. Jah live forever
  20. Witness (interlude)
  21. This place(remix)
  22. Make love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

The young and very talented U.K. based female singer Dawna Lee is certainly going to establish herself - if she hasn't already done it - considering this varied and thoroughly enjoyable album. Her singing style is reminiscent of the great Marcia Griffiths and sometimes reminds one of the also U.K. based diva Sylvia Tella. But anyhow, she's a great talent in her own right who has been given the possibility to showcase her unsurpassed skill and talents through the production work of Mykey Simpson and the beautiful musicianship from the likes of Steven Wright and Winston "Sax" Rose. "Love" is an album with sixteen solid love and message tunes, punctuated by lush accapella interludes. Highlights include the titletrack "Love" utilising a cut of Fabienne Miranda's classic "Prophecy", "You're my baby" on Augustus Pablo's "Cassava Piece", "Love can see us through", "Stronger force" on a revitalized "Queen & minstrel" riddim and the binghi flavoured "This Place". Highly recommended !!

Teacher & Mr. T.